Harmony Book Reviews

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Posted on: July 11, 2009

Shiver

Title: Shiver

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 10/10

Good If… You’re looking to read a really amazing werewolf romance!

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf–her wolf–is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human . . . until the cold makes him shift back again.

 Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human–or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

My Thoughts: To keep things short and simple – I freaking LOVE this book. It was everything I was hoping for and 1000 times more.

I’ve heard people say that it was creepy because of Grace’s obsession with the wolves but I guess I don’t fall under the “easily creeped out” category because even though I wouldn’t necessary call it normal, I felt it fit in with the book perfectly.

This is one of the those books that just flies. It doesn’t take long for the action to start and while it almost seems that there’s no time for characterization or the thrill to build up, I thought it was near perfect. I didn’t want to wait forever to meet Sam and I felt the timing was perfect.

Sam…it’s been quite obvious that I develop crushes on fictional boys easily but Sam knocked everyone out of the ballpark. He was so sweet and honest and he worked in a BOOKSTORE. How can I not love that guy? Plus, he’s self-sacrificing and his love for Grace was obvious.

The plot completely kept me on my toes. I always wanted to know more, more, more. The prose was poetic and flowed very nicely, propelling you from scene to scene. I’ll also admit it had me close to tears a couple of times. And the scene in the candy shop…oooooohlala.

The ending was completely unexpected. I cannot wait for the sequel.

 

This was reviewed for 1 ARC Tours.

14 Responses to "Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater"

I’m just finishing this up and I pretty agree with everything you just said XD though I won’t hesitate to add I wanted to smack her friends upside their heads on occasion!

Thanks for the review I already pre-order Shiver so I’m looking FW to read it.

Peace
Michelle

This review just makes me want to read this book MOAR!

And I already wanted to read it pretty badly. Thanks for the great review!

Can’t wait, can’t wait, can’t wait!!! Looks awesome and great review!!

Can’t wait to read this- so happy it’s finally in my TBR pile! Great review!

Great review. I’m going to link to it from mine. Though, I have to say, while I LOVED this book too, the candy shop scene made me gag a little. lol

So even though I have seen this around a lot lately, I didn’t really know what it was about … but now that I do I am highly interested! Thanks for the wonderful review! 🙂

AH. Isn’t this book amazing? :] I loved it, too.

Just got this book this weekend! Can’t wait to read it! Thanks for the informative review!

Wasn’t this book amazing?!?!? I loved it 🙂 Sam and Grace are two of my favorite characters ever.

i don’t really understand the end of the book. Is Maggie trying to say that Sam turns into a human and that he had been watching Grace all that time while she was suffering his loss?

no he was in the woods and when he changed into human he went to her house and saw her come outside

I loved this book with everything in me. It is most certainly my favorite book, knocking The Truth About Forever behind it. I’m waiting anxiously for the sequel next fall.

LOVED this book so much~! it waz extremley wonderful, and had all of the things i love in a book! AMAZING!! 🙂

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories