Harmony Book Reviews

Same Difference by Siobhan Vivian

Posted on: July 10, 2009

Same Difference

Title: Same Difference

Author: Siobhan Vivian

Rating: 9.5/10

Good If… You’re looking for a fun, original “the summer that changed everything” book.

Summary: (Taken from BN.com)

Emily is ready for a change. She’s been in the same town with the same friends for a long time…and none of them really understand her art. But when she goes to Philadelphia for a summer art institute, she suddenly finds like-minded people. One in particular, Fiona, intrigues and challenges her. But there are some things Emily is going to have to find out for herself — like what the balance is between life and art, and which is more important when push comes to shove.

My Thoughts: When I started reading this, I was just expecting a mediocre “the summer that changed everything” novel. In essence, it is a “summer that changed everything” novel but it’s really so much more than that.

 The characters are what drive this novel. I’ve read hundreds of books and have yet to see a set of characters as unique and realistic as those in this novel. Emily is your typical teen, trying to figure out who she is and where she belongs in the world. She’s having trouble with her family and friends. Maybe that makes me sound cliche, maybe you’re saying “well, that’s what all girls in the books are going through”, but there was something in the novel that made it different, that made her one of the most realistic characters and not at all cliche.

 Fiona was a character that was so important to the novel. She was slightly hard to figure out but I’m sure everyone will see a little bit of themselves in her and be able to relate to her actions. She was probably my favorite character because of that. Yates was…well, he was Yates and that pretty much explains it all.

 The romance (or perhaps non-romance) was done particularly well. You know it’s going to happen but when it does, it’s in a way you don’t expect. And, of course, drama ensues. I felt my heart breaking at certain parts which I always a sign that the romance was done well.

 The ending was unexpected but I loved it. It worked so well and made me smile.

I highly recommend this book. Since finishing it I have gone back to reread certain parts and have started shoving it off on anyone I know. Definitely suggest you pick up a copy ASAP!

4 Responses to "Same Difference by Siobhan Vivian"

this looks very good
love the title and cover art and a “that summer that changed everything novel” is just perfect for a lazy summer day

Ooo, sounds great. I’ll check for it at my Borders asap.

This sounds great! I really liked A Little Friendly Advice by Siobhan Vivian.

[…] Same Difference by Siobhan Vivian – requested from publisher. […]

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

