Harmony Book Reviews

After the Moment by Garret Freymann-Weyr

Posted on: July 6, 2009

After the Moment

Title: After the Moment

Author: Garret Freymann-Weyr

Rating: 9.5/10

Good If… You’re looking for a heartbreaking novel about first love.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

A new novel by the Printz Honor author Garret Freymann-Weyr, about a boy who discovers what happens when love fails us—or we fail love.
Maia Morland is pretty, only not pretty-pretty. She’s smart. She’s brave. She’s also a self-proclaimed train wreck.
Leigh Hunter is smart, popular, and extremely polite. He’s also completely and forever in love with Maia Morland.
Their young love starts off like a romance novel—full of hope, strength, and passion. But life is not a romance novel and theirs will never become a true romance. For when Maia needs him the most, Leigh betrays both her trust and her love.
Told with compassion and true understanding, After the Moment is about what happens when a young man discovers that sometimes love fails us, and that, quite often, we fail love.
My Thoughts: After the Moment is one of those books it’s nearly impossible to write a review for. I’ve rewritten this countless times and I still don’t think I can get it right.
After Moment is a book I think everyone should read. It’s heartbreaking and merry, unobtainable and realistic. It made me cry but also laugh out loud. The characters are so well-developed and original and perfect (in the sense that they’re unperfect). The plot was original and unexpected. I never guessed what was coming and after that, nothing happened as I was expecting. The ending, like the rest of the book, was so unexpected and it left me wanting more.
I realize this is a short review but I’m not sure what else to say. The book was amazing. You should buy it. End of story.
 

5 Responses to "After the Moment by Garret Freymann-Weyr"

Well thanks for the review. It must be that amazing huh?

I almost bought this one the other day. Oh it sounds so good!

Your review reminds me of how I thought of a book I just read recently, Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles. I don’t know if I can write a review for it, because even though I loved it, I don’t know how to express it in words.

I adored this book as well. The writing was nearly flawless.

I’ve had my eyes on this one for awhile – I’ll probably buy it after I get money for my birthday 😛

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories