Harmony Book Reviews

IMM/VA Recap

Posted on: July 5, 2009

Since I haven’t really posted much about my trip and I didn’t do an IMM last week or anything, I’m going to combine them. When I got home from my trip, I had a few packages laying on my bed. One of them had

As You Wish

which is for the Traveling to Teens tour. The other had a bunch of bookmarks from the author of Give Up The Ghost.

While I was down in the VA area, I got to go to my very first book signing. It was an Elizabeth Scott/Claudia Gray signing which so cool. At the time, I’d only read two Elizabeth books and No Claudia books but I was still super-excited. I bought

BloomEvernight (Evernight, Book 1)

and had them signed. Since there weren’t that many people there, I got to talk to both authors. Elizabeth gave me some advice on getting published which was cool. Both authors are fantastic. I also got to meet James of Book Chic. He’s as awesome in person as he is online. It was just a really fun day.

After we left the signing, my aunt and I went book-hunting. I’m trying to revamp my library’s teen collection so we were trying to find some good deals.

First, we went to the Goodwill store. I picked up a copy of Marley and Me for myself and a cookbook for my mom. Then we stopped in the Alexandria library because someone said they sold book there. They didn’t have any because they’re getting ready for the booksale but the librarian showed me the teen section and I got a bunch of ideas. We were talking and she said that if I came down next year, she could get me a pass for ALA because it’s being held in D.C. SO. EXCITED>

After that, we went to Old Towne’s Books a Million. I’d never been in one of those stores before and since I didn’t have a card, I couldn’t get any of the sales. But then I found their reduced section. They had a bunch of books for $2.97 and even $1.97 so I picked up a couple, including:

Magic or MadnessMagic Lessons (Magic Or Madness)

My HeartbeatPretty Little Devils

I got a few others too but I can’t remember them right now.

I didn’t really get anything IMM this week with the except of a copy of Hero-Type that may or may not be for a contest 😉

13 Responses to "IMM/VA Recap"

awesome books! you can find them anywhere! ha! hope you enjoy them all! happy reading!

Lots of great books this weeK! I really need to read the sequel to Evernight this week. That book was great. As You Wish looks really cute as well. Enjoy!

Yay for ALA! I hope you get to go. I’m so lucky to get to go this year in Chicago. I leave in 5 days and am getting more and more excited by the day!

So cool that you got to meet Elizabeth Scott! She sounds so sweet.

great books, enjoy!

I am so jealous of As You Wish, I seriously want to read that one! I mean, a genie? How cool is that!!

Awesome week. I’m thinking about going to ALA myself next year although it’ll be quite a hike for me. I think it would be awesome. Anyway, those Larbalestier books are amazing, so enjoy. Also very jealous of As You Wish; it look fantastic.

I want to know your thoughts on My Heartbeat. =)

Sounds like alot of fun at the book signing! Enjoy!

A lot of cool books. I really want to read As You Wish. I’m glad you had fun at the book signings ^^

Your so lucky you got to me Claudia Gray and Elizabeth Scott! Claudia’s books are amazing!!! So are Elizabeth’s. 🙂

Happy reading! =D

Great books you got this week. Evernight is a really good book. Enjoy.

I need to talk to this Alexandria librarian, lol. I didn’t even know ALA was being held in DC next year. I kinda hope that I’m working in my local library then and can try to get a pass to it, lol.

It was great to meet you too! I had an awesome time.

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

