Harmony Book Reviews

Faketastic by Alexa Young

Posted on: February 10, 2009

Faketastic

Title:Faketastic

Author: Alexa Young

Rating: 8.5/10
Title:Faketastic

Author: Alexa Young

Rating: 8.5/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

From besties to worsties and back again . . .

Team Avalon:

For Avalon, staying on top of trends has never been a problem—until her fellow cheerleaders decide that her BFF Halley is definitely outthis season. Now Avalon must choose between the frenemy who embarrassed her in front of everyone or the new friends who stood by her.

vs.

Team Halley:

Halley thinks she’s got it all: her forever-friend Avalon, her new bestie Sofee, and the hottest fall wardrobe at Seaview Middle School. Her life is a total YES. But when Sofee spies Avalon flirting with Halley’s crush, will it be World War Halvalon all over again?

My Thoughts: When I first finished this on my way home from D.C., I remember commenting to a few different people that I didn’t believe it was quite as good as the first. But when I started typing up all the reasons I liked this, I realized there were quite a few improvements on the first book. Which, of course, means that I was considering only the ending when I made those comments.

Anyway, on to those improvements I was talking about. For one, Halley and Avalon both matured a great deal. Halley became more relatable and Avalon lost quite a bit of her annoyingness. The things they were fighting about had a lot more substance, and it wasn’t just about who was wearing the most fashionable clothes.

Another thing that I enjoyed was that the supporting characters were starting to have their own personalities. Sophie, Wade, and most of the cheerleaders started to stand out more. I would definitely have liked to hear more about the Dead Romeos, though.

My favorite part of the whole book? Wade! Young knows how to create a relationship that everyone can relate to, even though it doesn’t turn out perfectly.

Faketastic is the perfect book for the tween crowd, especially those who enjoy fashion. But I think anyone looking for a fun read would enjoy it.

5 Responses to "Faketastic by Alexa Young"

Yay, I’m glad it was good because it’s on my shelf…I loved Frenemies!

Very compelling title for a book, really!

This book sounds a little childish for me, but I still might check it out.

HAHA! Love the title! Learned a new word today!

Leave a comment


    • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
    • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
    • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

    Categories