Harmony Book Reviews

The Hollow by Jessica Verday

Posted on: October 1, 2009

The Hollow by Jessica Verday: Book Cover

Title: The Hollow

Author: Jessica Verday

Rating: 8/10ish

Summary:

When Abbey’s best friend, Kristen, vanishes at the bridge near Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, everyone else is all too quick to accept that Kristen is dead?and rumors fly that her death was no accident. Abbey goes through the motions of mourning her best friend, but privately, she refuses to believe that Kristen is really gone. Then she meets Caspian, the gorgeous and mysterious boy who shows up out of nowhere at Kristen’s funeral, and keeps reappearing in Abbey’s life. Caspian clearly has secrets of his own, but he’s the only person who makes Abbey feel normal again…but also special.

Just when Abbey starts to feel that she might survive all this, she learns a secret that makes her question everything she thought she knew about her best friend. How could Kristen have kept silent about so much? And could this secret have led to her death? As Abbey struggles to understand Kristen’s betrayal, she uncovers a frightening truth that nearly unravels her—one that will challenge her emerging love for Caspian, as well as her own sanity.

My Thoughts: Okay. First off, let me say this is probably going to turn into more of a rambling than a review and also that it will most likely contain spoilers.

That said, I have a ton of mixed feelings about The Hollow. On one hand, I love it and I plan on rereading parts. On the other…gah! Let me explain.

I feel the back cover was completely misleading. This isn’t a book about a best friend’s death and the mystery behind it. It’s a book about Abbey and Caspian. I honestly feel like the best friend’s death was an unneeded subplot, not a major plot point like the summary makes it out to be. I was also put off by the subplots brought up halfway through the book (aka Kristin’s mysterious boyfriend) and then just dropped. I realize this is a series and it may be picked up again in Book Two but I just wish there’d been a little more something, other than it just disappearing.

The dialogue was another thing that got on my nerves. A LOT. There were times when I felt like banging my head off the book because the dialogue was so corny. I don’t know any teens that talk in perfectly formulated sentences when they’re talking to each other. At least not all of the time.

So now that I’ve probably made you think the book is not worth picking up, let me say this – Despite these things, it completely redeems itself. Jessica is an awesome writer and there’s a great story here. It’s just not what I expected it to be.

I found all of the Sleepy Hollow tales extremely interesting since I LOVED the short story when we had to read it last year. The setting for the story was perfect. It draws the reader right in.

Also, I loved Caspian. He was so sweet and I now have a total crush on him.

And the ending completely broke my freakin heart. O.M.G. I need book two. Like now. Though I’m kinda hoping it starts when she comes back to Sleepy Hollow. Because that’s where Caspian and all the secrets are!!

So overall: While I felt like certain plot points weren’t played out well enough and I would have liked to see some things different, I recommend this one. Jessica is an author to watch and I’m hoping Book Two will completely blow me away.

 

 

3 Responses to "The Hollow by Jessica Verday"

Very well said! I have this book and have heard mostly mixed reviews about it. I had such high expectations for this book and I think so did everyone else. I haven’t read it yet, probably because I don’t want to be disappointed. Thanks for the review! And since this is the beginning of a series, maybe the next books will be out of this world. 🙂

Great review. I agree about the synopsis being misleading. But there’s a book 2 and 3 so we shall see how the story progresses.

I agree with mostly everything you said, however I found the book to be much better than most of the reviews available online. I’ve got a review of it up on my blog if you’re interested in seeing it. Can’t wait for book 2 — I think the book will be a bit more straightforward and answer those questions that are lingering.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

