Harmony Book Reviews

Can You Convince Me?

Posted on: February 21, 2009

Lately, it seems that I’ve been reading books that I just can’t get into. With most of these, I’m past the 50pg point so I don’t need to keep reading but all of these shining reviews keep popping and I can’t help but think I should go back and give them another chance. So here’s your chance. If you think I should go back and give these another shot, leave me a comment and tell me why.

Rowan of the Wood. I just can’t get into it. It fell sort of flat and un-intriguing, despite the shining reviews I’ve seen. But, I’m wondering if maybe it has something to do with the cover?

Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One Before. I was positive I was going to like this one and, at first, I really did. It was catchy and the narrative had me laughing. But then I got kind of bored with it. Nothing was happening. So I put it down and never picked it back up.

Flygirl.  I love historical fiction so I figured this was something I’d fall in love with. At first, I was hooked. Then, just like with SMIYHTOB, I became uninterested. But now everyone is saying how amazing this one is. Did anyone else not find it so completely mind-blowing?

Shelter Me.  With this one, I was never sure whether I loved or hated it. The voice seemed dry and to be frank, the characters annoyed the crap out of me.  I made it to page 60 or so, put it down to pick up later, and now it’s still sitting there.

What do you guys think? Should I give any of these another shot?

7 Responses to "Can You Convince Me?"

If you are not enjoying the book, then it is not worth your time. I would find a book that I love or holds my attention the whole time. Just because a book is getting a lot of praise, doesn’t mean its the right book for you. (I’ve dealt with this problem before with myself. I felt this way with Skinned by Robin Wasserman. Skinned wasn’t necessarily a bad book, just not the one for me.)

I haven’t read any of those and only Flygirl is in my TBR pile, so I can’t convince you of anything, lol.

Oh my gosh you MUST read Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One Before. It’s hilarious!!! How far into it are you?

Flygirl! I loved it and some things happened I totally didn’t expect! And I don’t even think historical things usually!

I actually just finished Shelter Me! I have a review up but I think you and I have different taste. I happen to like her voice, I though it was honest and not annoying at all.

Shelter Me gets better… promise!

I loved Rowan of the Wood! The first part can seem Harry Potter-ish, but once you hit Ch 4 or 5, all that HP stuff melts away and you get hooked! I couldn’t put it down until I finished it… I can’t wait for the sequel!

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories