Harmony Book Reviews

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Posted on: August 31, 2009

Hush, Hush

Title: Hush Hush

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Rating: 10/10

Good If… You’re looking for a thrilling book you can’t put down (or just want to read a book about a sexy fallen angel!).

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along.

With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.
My Thoughts: This book pretty much rocks. Like really, really rocks. Why? Well, because…

The plot is just…wow. I think this was my first book about a fallen angel but even if it wasn’t, I highly doubt there’s a book out there anywhere near as original as this one. Throughout the whole book, right up until the last page, I was second and triple guessing myself. Who’s the bad guy? It can’t be him? Can it? And even as the truth starting coming out, things still caught me completely off guard. Hush, Hush is one of those books that will keep every reader clinging to the edge of the seats.

Fitzpatrick created a setting that changed the book so much. Even though it could technically be anywhere, it felt haunted. The places the characters went had an alluring feel to them, especially the amusement park and Bo’s Arcade. Pictures of dark places were painted in my mind and I LOVED it.

The characters and their relationships in the book were something too. Even the secondary characters were fascinating and played major roles in the book.

My absolute, number one, FAVORITE thing about the book? PATCH! That boy is something else and the boy would be nothing without him. I couldn’t figure him out. First he was good then he was bad then he was good then he was…Well, I’m not telling. It’s impossible to get a good read of his character and that’s what makes the book so thrilling. The whole book pivots on what he does next. Plus, he’s extremely sexy. And he’s relationship was Nora is like no relationship in YA.

Hush, Hush is one of those heart-racing, edge of your seat books that you’ll put down once and want to pick up again and again. I recommend is wholeheartedly.

40 Responses to "Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick"

Interesting to try to buy more.

I just got my book last Saturday. Cannot wait any more mins to start it.

Awesome review and I couldn’t agree more – Hush, Hush is one of the best books I’ve read. Ever. I’m super excited to read the official copy come October to see how the ending has changed!

My sister and I loved it so much we have a fan site coming out this week. Yeah, that pretty much tells you to the extent of which I love this story.

Great job with the review!

This is my favourite book of 2009 with Catching Fire. Great review!

This really was an amazing book. I’m already ready for Crescendo. Glad I was able to help out with that sentence on Twitter. xD

Hey, Harmony! So glad you loved the book! And thanks for taking the time to write out a thoughtful (and awesome!) review!!

Becca

I just got a copy of this! And I just remembered that they’re changing the ending for the finished copy so I am really excited to read it the second time too!

[…] is talking about it, I gave it a gushing review, and now it’s finally time to win your very own hardcover copy, straight from the author […]

Eeeek I’m hearing so many good things about Patch, and I’m excited to see you loved him so much! Awesome review! =)

I cannot wait for this book! The world is seriously in need of more YA books with epic storylines that keep you guessing 🙂

I have heard nothing but good things about this book. Everyone who reads it loves it. Glad you did as well. The cover sure does make it look awesome.

Wonderful review for such a pretty book. Sounds like an awesome read. Think the idea sounds rather original

I can’t wait to read it. I haven’t read one bad review.

Totally agree with everything you said! I LOVED this book. Patch was… oh my… PATCH! Patch, Patch, Patch, Patch! Hehe. Yes. He is definitely my new fictional character crush. I do believe that this book is going to be the next big thing which is good because I want everyone to see what a brilliant story it is, but bad because I want to keep Patch hidden from the millions of fangirls to come! LOL

Great review!

I soo agree i luv pach soo much.. i dont want it to turn out like twilight how every one luvs edward with all the fan ppls…..

WOW. i cannot wait! i wanna read it already! wish i can get a copy. great review btw.

+1 for commenting on your review.
btw, how can i follow you? 😀

WOW. i cannot wait! i wanna read it already! wish i can get a copy. great review btw.

**the first two comments had the wrong emails. sorry. 😀

Aaahh! I’ve read so many good reviews about this book! I wanna read it bad now 🙂

The cover of this book already looks so interesting but your review makes it even more appealing.
wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

Gaah! I want to read it! I want to read it! I want to read it!
(But who DOESN’T want to read about a sexy fallen angel?) 😛

I can’t wait to read Hush Hush!

this looks really good. id love to get my hands on it. thats a pretty darn good review!

This book looks and sounds really good. It sounds really original.

I loved this book so much! It was one of my favorites of the year – great review 🙂

Awesome review! I’m glad you liked it! I can’t wait to read it!

Another review that makes Hush, hush looks even greater!
I think that it will become one of my favourite reads of this year!

Great review! I can’t wait to read this book.

This looks really good. Thats a pretty good review! ^^

Thanks

I SO want to read this! I’ve heard great things about it, and it sounds just like my kind of book.

Perfect review and the book is awesome!!

Congratulations!

I am really excited to read Hush, Hush! I keep hearing really good things about it. I love the cover too.

I am really looking forward to reading this. I am glad you gave it a good review.

I LOVED this book! It was so hard for me to put it down, and when I had to put it down, I kept thinking about it! Patch is one of the best bad boys out there. *swoon*

Awesome review- I can’t wait to read Hush, Hush! =) It has an excellent premise, and by what you said it seems to have nailed the execution. 😉

This book sounds perfectly awesome! It also has one of the best YA covers of 2009! Hush, Hush is destined for greatness!

I absolutely LOVED this book! It is so amazing! I read the whole thing in one sitting. It infiltrated my dreams too! I’ve like never had that happen, but it did. Love!
Fabulous review too, and I so agree about the allurment of the places. The amusemant park and Bo’s Arcade were both painted in my mind as these dark, , yet exciting places.

OMG I feel the same way.. I read the whole book instead of doing my home work… it was too good to put down. And i have also had pach dreams.. this book is amazing I personaly give it a 10 out of 5 rateing…. its on a speacial shelf with my twight books. no other book can be placed there =]

*wants to read book about a sexy fallen angel*

[…] Lush, BookMagic, Boy With Books, Dog-Eared and Well-Read, The Eclectic Reader, Frenetic Reader, Harmony Book Reviews, In Bed WIth Books, Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf, Lost in Books, Muse Book Reviews, My […]

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories