Harmony Book Reviews

The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

Posted on: July 7, 2009

The Demon's Lexicon

Title: The Demon’s Lexicon

Author: Sarah Rees Brennan

Rating: 10/10

Good If… You’re looking for an action-packed fantasy that will keep you guessing!

Summary: (Taken from BN.com)

Nick and his brother, Alan, have spent their lives on the run from magic. Their father was murdered, and their mother was driven mad by magicians and the demons who give them power. The magicians are hunting the Ryves family for a charm that Nick’s mother stole — a charm that keeps her alive — and they want it badly enough to kill again.

Danger draws even closer when a brother and sister come to the Ryves family for help. The boy wears a demon’s mark, a sign of death that almost nothing can erase…and when Alan also gets marked by a demon, Nick is desperate to save him. The only way to do that is to kill one of the magicians they have been hiding from for so long.

Ensnared in a deadly game of cat and mouse, Nick starts to suspect that his brother is telling him lie after lie about their past. As the magicians’ Circle closes in on their family, Nick uncovers the secret that could destroy them all.

 

My Thoughts: ZOMG. This book kicks *SS. Now that that’s out of the way…

 The Demon’s Lexicon was far better than I was ever expecting. In fact, it was so good that I read it in only a couple hours. I put it down once to eat and that was all. If you read the summary and think you have a good idea of what the book is like, forget it. You’re wrong. Even if you’re reallyreally good at guessing the ending before it happens, something tells me this one will leave you clueless.

 Aside from the whole “can’t guess the ending” thing, the plot itself was absolutely fantastic. It was drawn out well but there was still tons of action and never a dull spot.

 The best thing about the book, though, was the characters. Each character had a distinct personality and something that made them unique. Even the secondary characters had something about them that made them unique. Their relationships with each other also played an important part in the novel, especially that between Nick, Alan, and their mother.

 I loved how magic played a major part in the novel but didn’t control it. That made the novel even more realistic and easy to relate to.

 The ending literally left me speechless and I went back to read it a couple times.

 I highly, highly recommend this one and I look forward to the next book!

4 Responses to "The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan"

wait wait wait so…you liked it right? XD I wasn’t sure with the fangirl’ing…

I really want to read this! ::anxiously awaits her copy to arrive::

I’ve GOT to read this. 🙂

Must read soon. This one is actually sitting on my bookshelves staring at me right now. It’s totally giving me the stinkeye for ignoring it, so I’ll have to move it up in the pile. Great review.

I have been DYING to read this one even BEFORE it came out!!! The life of the penniless it a sad life indeed.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories