Harmony Book Reviews

DupliKate by Cherry Cheva

Posted on: August 10, 2009

DupliKateTitle: DupliKate

Author: Cherry Cheva

Rating: 8.5/10
Good If…You’re looking for a fun LOL novel.

Summary: “Getting into Yale has been Kate Larson’s dream for years—and being overworked and under-rested is the price of admission. But when she opens her eyes after falling asleep on her keyboard one night, she comes face-to-face with, well, herself.

Meet Kate’s computer-generated twin. Kate doesn’t know why she’s here or how to put her back where she belongs, but she’s real. And she’s the last thing Kate has time to deal with right now. Unless. . .could having a double be the answer to Kate’s prayers?”
My Thoughts: This is one of those unrealistically realistic books that you just can’t put down. You know it can’t happen to you – ever – but at the same time you can’t help relating to the plot and the characters and thinking “that happened to __”.

I’ve been a fan of Cheva’s writing since reading her debut novel, She’s So money, which was one of the first books I reviewed. Because of that, I was expecting an insanely hilarious and can’t-put-it-down novel in DupliKate and in most ways, it was. I found myself rolling my eyes or giggling at multiple scenes and rarely put the book down.

Since I’ll only be a freshman, I can’t really relate to all of the SAT and college essay pressure but I was still able to be pulled into the novel. Stress and drama are things we all have to deal with, even if the focus point of the stress is different, and that makes it easier to relate to.

The one thing I would have liked to have seen more of in this novel was character development. Kate was a well-rounded character but I really felt that getting to know the other characters more would have added more to the novel. I never really understood much about her one love interest and I would have liked to.

Other than that, I felt DupliKate was a continued display of Cheva’s talent in writing comedy and stories that you won’t want to put down.

Recommended.

This is reviewed as part of the 1 ARC Tours.

1 Response to "DupliKate by Cherry Cheva"

This sounds like an interesting read. As a senior this year, I can definitely feel the college stress. 😛

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories