Harmony Book Reviews

Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies by Erin Dionne

Posted on: April 22, 2009

 Models Don't Eat Chocolate CookiesTitle: Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies

Author: Erin Dionne

Rating: B+

Good If… You want to read an excellent MG book.

Summary (taken from Amazon):

When Celeste’s meddling aunt enters her in the Miss Husky Peach Pageant for “larger sized girls,” the eighth-grader quails at the thought of the teasing that’s sure to follow, though the idea of modeling has its appeal. Reasoning that if she loses enough weight, she’ll be ineligible for the contest, Celeste finds the motivation to skip snacks and even to exercise. Along the way, she begins to express her individuality through the unlikely vehicle of a beauty contest. Successes, flops, humiliations, and recoveries are all part of the pageant process, and even girls who don’t see themselves as potential models will enjoy Celeste’s account of her experiences. The wry first-person narrative also provides convincing views of middle-school friendships, family dynamics, and incremental personal growth. The ending may be a bit too rosy for absolute realism, but readers rooting for Celeste won’t complain. A light, well-paced first novel.

My Thoughts:Not only is MDECC one of the best weight issues book I’ve read, it’s the best tween book I’ve read.

Of all the characters in books I’ve read recently, Celeste has to be the one I relate to most. This probably has something to do with the fact we’re the same age but I just felt so connected to her while I was reading this. The way her aunt acted was just…unbelievable and I don’t think I could have handled it quite as nicely as she did. People should just not act like that.

Weight was a big part of this and I’m extremely picky about how I like weight-related things to be handled but Dionne pulled it off very nicely and realistically. The motivation behind it and everything she goes through to get rid of the weight is something I can see other people doing. The idea of the Husky Peach competition was original (is there anything similar in real life?) and I enjoyed reading about Celeste’s time at the competition, especially with her stylist.

In my opinion, the ending could have been done just a tiny bit better but other than that, I loved this and I’m looking forward to Dionne’s future novels. (Especially the recently announced The Total Tragedy of a Girl Named Hamlet.)

5 Responses to "Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies by Erin Dionne"

Thanks for the review, Harmony!! So glad you enjoyed MODELS!

Oh, I really want to read this one! It sounds excellent! For the longest time I didn’t realize it was a MG book. I guess because of the word “model” in the title? 🙂

To be perfectly honest I’ve recommended to my sister’s school guidance counselors to have this book available for students to read. Just from talking to her and her friends, I know that a lot of the pamphlets and things they have for teens to read about ‘weight issues’ are very dry, dull and ridiculous. I felt that MDECC had such a positive message tied up in such an enjoyable book that it would get the point across more. Until they see the light, I’ve been passing my (poor battered) copy around to all her friends.

when i read this book i fell in love with it!!!i read it over and over again!when i was done with it there were 4 of my friends who trusted me and wanted to read it too. 🙂 i hope you enjoy it!

i love this book and i think it is one of the best books i have read.
I hope to read more of Erin Dionne’s books

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories