Harmony Book Reviews

Mini Reviews: E. Lockhart Edition

Posted on: September 22, 2009

The Boy Book by E. Lockhart: Book Cover

The Boyfriend List. This book was cute. But almost to the point where it became annoying. Don’t get me wrong – I liked it enough to continue on with the series, but there was just something gnawing at the back of my head as I read it. Other than that, I found Ruby to be a character I could relate to and found myself LOLing at many of her comments.

 

The Boy Book. This one was even better than the first. I loved it and pretty much read it in one sitting. My love of Ruby was confirmed in this one. She’s hilarious and relateable as ever and my irritation wasn’t nearly as noticeable.

 

Dramarama by E. Lockhart: Book Cover

Dramarama. This one took me quite a while to get into but once I did, I stayed up way later than I should have to finish it. The characters were fun and spunky and I loved the MC. Her bold attitude and the way she stuff up for her friends was amazing. This is currently my 2nd fave E. Lockhart book.

 

Fly on the Wall. This is, hands down, my favorite E. Lockhart book. The whole transformation thing was kind of random but the complete awesomeness of the rest of the book made it so easy to look over it. Fly on the Wall is the most honest book I’ve read in a while and will probably make most readers blush (I wonder what kind of research Lockhart did for this one!) but also be grateful. I highly, highly, highly recommend this one!

How to Be Bad by Lauren Myracle: Book Cover

The Disreputable History of Frankie Lanadau Banks. Ick. I’m so thankful I didn’t attempt to read this one first or I would never have read any of her other novels. I just couldn’t get into this one which I found suprising, since I’ve heard nothing but praise. But, I couldn’t and gave up. Not recommended.

How to Be Bad. I wasn’t sure whether or not to include this one since it wasn’t all written by E. Lockhart but I liked it so much I had to at least mention it! It’s so cute and funny and hard to put down. Definitely recommended!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to "Mini Reviews: E. Lockhart Edition"

I really liked the Ruby Oliver series so far. Interestingly, I listened to the first one on audiobook & really liked it. I found reading the second two not quite as enjoyable. Liked them very much but think I’d rather have had them read to me, you know?
I’m happy you felt this way about Frankie Landau-Banks. I couldn’t get into it either. Maybe I’ll give it another go someday. When books win awards & I end up not really liking them, it makes me sad.

“The Boyfriend List. This one was even better than the first.” Was that a typo? xD Boyfriend List is the first.

AND I LOVE E LOCKHART! Disreputable History is my favorite, actually. Frankie is awesome.

I loved Fly on the Wall, it was so cute and fun. I liked the others of hers that I’ve read, but never enough to become a true obsessed fan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

