Harmony Book Reviews

BBAW Interview: She Is Too Fond of Books

Posted on: September 15, 2009

As part of BBAW, I signed up for an interview swap. I actually ended up learning about a blog I’d never heard of but now love. Check out Dawn’s cool answers below and then check out her site.

 

dawn head shot.jpg

What made you decide to start blogging and, more importantly, what has kept you inspired to continue doing it?

I started blogging as a replacement for a wonderful book group that I lost when we moved out of state.  I’ve kept at it because of the interaction with other readers – we share book recommendations, occasionally engage in friendly debate about books and authors, and “get” each others passion for books and reading.  We talk about community – that’s what it’s all about.  My blog wouldn’t have grown without interaction and feedback from those who read it.

 

One of your features is a Spotlight on Bookstores. What inspired you to start the feature?

That out-of-state move I mentioned above brought us to an area with a lot of bookstores (probably an extension of the fact that there are a lot of colleges and universities around here).  Spotlight on Bookstores began as an occasional essay about bookstores I visited with my family, or those I travelled to in order to take in an author event.  It has grown to a weekly feature, for which I actively solicit guest posts from other bloggers and authors.  It’s not limited to indie bookstores, but the vast majority do spotlight an independent.  I love that the feature brings the focus on the indies!  My hope is that the index continues to grow, and that people seek out these special bookstores when travelling.

 

What is the one book you’d love to see turned into a movie?

I’m rarely satisfied with books-into-movies; exceptions for me might be THE KITE RUNNER and THE NAMESAKE.  I saw both of these on DVD – I don’t often get out to the movies … busy with kids, and when my husband and I have a chance to go out I’d rather sit in a restaurant and talk to him than sit silently in the dark J .  Well, based on my citing two books set in foreign countries, I’ll continue the theme by saying I’d love to see A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS, THE SEPTEMBERS OF SHIRAZ and THE SPACE BETWEEN US made into films.

 

Name 3 books that you can reread over and over. 

The three I just listed fit that, as do several children’s classics – CHARLOTTE ’S WEB, HARRIET THE SPY, and LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE.

 

If you could spend the day with any living author, who would it be and why?

It would be an author who has successfully combined historical fiction with a contemporary story line – David Ebershoff, Geraldine Brooks, and Tatiana de Rosnay come to mind.  I’d love to talk with them about their research and the process of combining the two timelines.  Of course I’d ask for feedback on my own writing (and be prepared for whatever they might say!)

 

What book do you feel is overrated? What book would you like to see more buzz about?

Any book that has huge buzz, but no readers, is overrated in my opinion!  I’m thinking of THE LOST SYMBOL, which is jamming the airwaves with people speculating this week.  It won’t be released until 9/15, and very few people have read an advance copy.  Notably, the New York Times ran a review on 9/13.  Don’t get me wrong, I plan to read it, and expect to enjoy it (I liked THE DA VINCI CODE); it’s just frustrating that it’s getting so much press … kind of like “The Emperor’s New Clothes” until people can actually read it!

 

Oh, another one, THREE CUPS OF TEA.  I love the message, Greg Mortenson and his group are doing amazing work, but I really disliked the writing in the book – too much hero worship and just poor construct.  People have looked at me askance when I’ve said I didn’t like the book.  I didn’t.

 

Outside of your blog, who are you? What do you enjoy doing?

You could say I’m a historian – I majored in social history and have done extensive research on my genealogy.  I love going thru old census records and other documents on micro-film; it’s a giant puzzle with no end in sight.  Yes, I’m a geek!  I’m also married with four amazing kids; we take advantage of the many museums and activities in our area, and enjoy biking around town … especially if it involves a stop at the ice cream shop!

 —

Be sure to check out the questions I answered for Dawn here.

5 Responses to "BBAW Interview: She Is Too Fond of Books"

Thanks for a great interview with Dawn. I love her blog. And, Dawn, I too loved HARRIET THE SPY! (not that horrible movie though — another example of disappointment).

Plenty to think about there – thank you for a great interview.

It was fun getting to know Dawn better! I saw The Kite Runner too and loved it. I loved A Thousand Splendid Suns when I read it earlier this year and think it would make a fantastic movie, too! Let’s cross our fingers!

Great interview! I enjoyed getting to know more about Dawn. I spent some time with her at BEA, but it was so hectic and exhausting, we didn’t have as much time to talk as I would have liked. Charlotte’s Web is one of my favorite books from childhood. I’d re-read it, too, if I wasn’t so afraid of my old copy falling apart!

Well i was looking for the same thing and got it here.The things are very much relevant to what i am searching.I am saying this because I have come across a new site for movies related stuff and that site is moviesjudge.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

