Harmony Book Reviews

How To Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford

Posted on: September 7, 2009

How To Say Goodbye In Robot

Title: How To Say Goodbye in Robot

Author: Natalie Standiford

Rating: 9.5/10

Good If… You’re looking for a fantastic and honest but heartbreaking book.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

New to town, Beatrice is expecting her new best friend to be one of the girls she meets on the first day. But instead, the alphabet conspires to seat her next to Jonah, aka Ghost Boy, a quiet loner who hasn’t made a new friend since third grade. Something about him, though, gets to Bea, and soon they form an unexpected friendship. It’s not romance, exactly – but it’s definitely love. Still, Bea can’t quite dispel Jonah’s gloom and doom – and as she finds out his family history, she understands why. Can Bea help Jonah? Or is he destined to vanish?

My Thoughts:

I hate to give yet another gushing “OMG. READ THIS!” review but just like all of those other books, this one really, truly deserves it.

How To Say Goodbye in Robot is truly one of a kind. It’s heartbreaking and honest and will make you see a truth you never noticed before.

The story doesn’t start out in any amazing way. For the first few pages, it’s just a regular old story. But then, with the introduction of [radio show] and Jonah’s reaction to Bea’s attempts at conversation, a completely different story is started. What’s Jonah’s problem? Who tells someone to listen to something and then not want to discuss it? Who IS Ghost Boy? But, of course, there is never an easy answer or even an answer at all.

For most of the novel, we have no clue who Jonah really is. He’s a mystery and his actions never follow any set pattern or personality. Usually, I like to be able to get inside of a guy’s head but not knowing Jonah just kept me going throughout the whole novel. When he finally cracked, when we finally get inside his head a teeny bit, it’s shocking. Unexpected. Scary.

I don’t want to give anything away but I can say that the ending is absolutely perfect but also heartbreaking. I sat there looking at the book saying “Oh. My. God.” over and over again. It captured the whole book perfectly but it was also completely shocking (though I guess it shouldn’t have been) and just…wow.

How To Say Goodbye in Robot is one of those few books that will keep a memorable spot in your mind weeks, months, even years, after you finish it. It’s just THAT good. Go out and buy yourself a copy the day it releases. Read it. You will not regret it.

3 Responses to "How To Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford"

Well, you’ve got me hooked! Awesome review. ; )

Aww i’m so happy this one is loved by you. Can’t wait to read it : )

I read it and it’s one of my favorite books! 🙂 It’s soo cute and I love the relationship between “ghost boy” and “robot girl!” I seriously bawled my eyes out at the end because it was a shocker and heartbreaking! BUT EVERYONE GO READ THIS BOOK! 🙂 The first couple of chapters are a little slow, confusing and boring but you will fall in love with this book!

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

