Harmony Book Reviews

Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Keuhnert

Posted on: August 29, 2009

Ballads of Suburbia

Title: Ballads of Suburbia

Author: Stephanie Keuhnert

Rating: 10/10

Good If…You want to read an amazing book or you want to cry or you want to laugh or you want to think or…well, just buy it!

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Kara hasn’t been back to Oak Park since the end of junior year, when a heroin overdose nearly killed her and sirens heralded her exit. Four years later, she returns to face the music. Her life changed forever back in high school: her family disintegrated, she ran around with a whole new crowd of friends, she partied a little too hard, and she fell in love with gorgeous bad-boy Adrian, who left her to die that day in Scoville Park….

Amid the music, the booze, the drugs, and the drama, her friends filled a notebook with heartbreakingly honest confessions of the moments that defined and shattered their young lives. Now, finally, Kara is ready to write her own.

My Thoughts:

Up until I read Ballads, I didn’t think it was possible for a book to effect me so much. Sure, I’ve cried while reading books and thought about them afterwards but no book has EVER had such an impact on me as Ballads of Suburbia did.

The first chapter (which is really an Epilogue) left me a little confused…what was the point of the story now that we knew the ending? But after the actual Chapter One, I left any thoughts of the “why” behind because I was completely sucked in the book. I think I put it down…three times? once I started to either get tissues or use the bathroom because I’d been reading for so long.

One thing about Ballads you should know is that it’s either going to mirror your life or be completely foreign territory. For me, it was foreign territory and I’m sure that’s the way it will be for many readers. I couldn’t relate to ANYTHING that the characters did. At all. Kara and her friends are 100% different from me. But Stephanie writes in a way that will pull you in no matter what. It’s crazy.

My favorite thing about the book was the ballads spread throughout the book. They were so honest and heartbreaking and gave you an insight on why the characters acted the way they did.

As I said before, this book affected me in major ways. I won’t list them all here but let’s just say that by the time I finished, I was bawling my eyes out. It was all I could think about that night, I had DREAMS about it when I went to bed, and it was the first thing that popped into my mind the next morning. Even now, weeks after I’ve read it, the book is still fresh in my mind.

The characters, the plot, the prose, EVERYTHING about Ballads is perfect. There’s not a single thing I would change about it and I think that EVERYONE should read it. It will open your eyes in a way no other book can.

5 Responses to "Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Keuhnert"

Great review!! It IS an amazing book! One of the faves now ;D

Great review. I like the way this book sucked me in. It made me feel so sad for a real long time.

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book! I really want to read it. Going to move it up on my TBR. Thanks for the great review.

i would buy 3 copys of this

Wow, okay, you’ve totally got me wanting to read this now! I’ve seen this cover around quite a lot on sites/blogs lately but I haven’t actually read too much into it. Now after reading your review, I really, really want to read this. Better make sure I have a box of tissues ready beforehand!

Leave a Reply

Categories

