Harmony Book Reviews

What I’m Reading (6)

Posted on: August 7, 2009

Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, The

This was one of the books I requested the library inter-loan for me after reading the Roo series. And I’m gonna be blunt – I can’t stand this one. I’ve loved all of her other books so far (Roo series, Dramarama, How To Be Bad) but I just can’t stand this one. Granted, I’m only a few chapters in. I guess I just can’t stand the narrative. Thoughts on this? Should I continue?

Ballads of Suburbia

I stayed up past midnight to finish this one, bawled my eyes out, had dreams about it, and it was the first thing I thought about in the morning before I reread it. My review won’t come for a while but I just wanted to say that if you haven’t read this one yet, DO IT NOW. It’s even better than Joey Ramone and it flys past all other books. GET IT.

3 Responses to "What I’m Reading (6)"

I’ve recently seen a lot of negative reviews on The Disreputable Frankie, which makes me more and more leery about reading it.

As for Ballads, I’m a little afraid fo that book. It partly sounds interesting, but then I’m told it’s riddled with drug passages, and for some reason I’ve developed a phobia towards reading about drugs and drug use.

Ballads of Suburbia sounds good, but I haven’t read it yet…I have no idea. Glad you liked it!

The other book, I don’t think I have even heard of it before.

Hmm I’ll admit I didn’t like the beginning too much for the Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, but I actually really liked the story. That just might be me though. It’s still up to you if you want to read it, but for me I honestly enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

