Harmony Book Reviews

Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

Posted on: August 4, 2009

Prophecy of the Sisters

Title: Prophecy of the Sisters

Author: Michelle Zink

Rating: 9/10

Good If…You’re looking for a spooky Gothic story.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

An ancient prophecy divides two sisters-

One good…

One evil…

Who will prevail?

Twin sisters Lia and Alice Milthorpe have just become orphans. They have also become enemies. As they discover their roles in a prophecy that has turned generations of sisters against each other, the girls find themselves entangled in a mystery that involves a tattoo-like mark, their parents’ deaths, a boy, a book, and a lifetime of secrets.

Lia and Alice don’t know whom they can trust.

They just know they can’t trust each other.

My Thoughts:

This is one of those books that by the time you start it, you’ve heard quite a lot about it but you still aren’t quite sure what to expect. I knew it was supposed to be to be spooky and involve sisters but that was about all and man, did this story ever take me for a ride.

I was instantly sucked in from the first sentence and even as I was at my aunt’s house getting my hair dyed, I could barely put it down. I needed to know what happened next and I needed to know right then.

The setting of the book was the one thing that pulled me in right off the bat. It was eery and spooky yet similar to what I know. It just added so much to the story. Without it being set in the era it was, I think the story probably would have fell apart.

The plot was just..astounding. There’s no other way to describe it. It was crazy and original and realistic and just amazing. When you first start reading, you think you know exactly where this is going. Except you don’t because there’s a HUGE plot twist that you’ll never expect coming. I’ll admit that I did have a few things figured out before the characters but that plot twist just completely threw me off.

The characters didn’t pull me to the story as much as the plot or setting did but they too were incredible. I loved Lia’s determination and Alice’s spookiness added so much to the story.

The only complaint I had with the story was that I would have liked to have seen more of Lia’s…love interest, I guess you could say. He was in the story just enough to keep you curious but from the ending, I’m really hoping to see more of him.

Overall, I highly highly recommend this. It just come out so I definitely recommend going to pick up a copy! (Isn’t the cover gorgeous?!)

10 Responses to "Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink"

The more I hear about this, the better it sounds.

I have heard a lot about this book and can’t wait to read it. I picked up my copy yesterday.

[…] Prophecy review at Harmony Book Reviews […]

[…] By now you’ve probably seen my review and maybe even a few copies in your local store. Now it’s time to officially celebrate the […]

hi this wook is great is there a second one coming out beacuse it seems like there would be and when

I love it already. I cant wait to read it!!!

….I rili lyk dis buk,its very interesting and full of mystery…… but its so hard to get a copy of the others……

AWSOME BOOK! LOVED IT. WHEN IS NUMBER 2 COMING OUT???

will ther be a follow up yo this book?

Wow, that’s great! It’s wonderful that someone made this amazing blog. Please check this another wonderful site that defined “the prophet” for the modern era. This has made his journey unique: a journey that has taken his inspired message to schools and colleges, churches and synagogues, alleyways and prison cells.

Abigail

Leave a Reply

Categories

