Harmony Book Reviews

The Miles Between by Mary E. Pearson

Posted on: July 30, 2009

The Miles Between

Title: The Miles Between

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Rating: 8/10

Good If… You’re looking for a one-day roadtrip book.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Destiny Faraday makes a point of keeping her distance from her classmates at Hedgebrook Academy. Her number-one rule: Don’t get attached. But one day, unexpectedly finding a car at their disposal, Destiny and three of her classmates embark on an unauthorized road trip.

 They’re searching for one fair day—a day where the good guy wins and everything adds up to something just and right. Their destination: Langdon, a town that Destiny’s unsuspecting companions hope will hold simply a day of fun. But, as Destiny says, “Things are not always what they seem.” Only she knows that Langdon holds far more than that—a deep secret she has never shared with anyone.

My Thoughts: This book is definitely a step away from the ordinary. It makes you believe one thing for most of the novel and then when you find out that it’s completely different, it’s shocking.
Destiny is an interesting character, as is her Aunt. You never really find out what game she’s playing until the very end and you’re led to believe something very different from the truth. Her friends were fun but I would have loved for them to have a little more depth. Even now I can remember very little about each of them. I must say that my favorite character in the whole book was the little lamb they pick up.
The adventures they go on throughout the day are really fun and kinda unexpected.
The ending was…incredible. I had no clue it was coming. Wow.
Overall, I definitely recommend this!
 
1 Response to "The Miles Between by Mary E. Pearson"

The end was very shocking wasn’t it? I still remember a lot about the characters.

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

