Harmony Book Reviews

Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender

Posted on: July 27, 2009

Bad Girls Don't Die

Title: Bad Girls Don’t Die

Author: Katie Alender

Rating: 8/10

Good If… You’re looking for a haunt but not totally creepy ghost story.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Alexis thought she led a typically dysfunctional high school existence. Dysfunctional like her parents’ marriage; her doll-crazy twelve-year-old sister, Kasey; and even her own anti-social, anti-cheerleader attitude.

When a family fight results in some tearful sisterly bonding, Alexis realizes that her life is creeping from dysfunction into danger. Kasey is acting stranger than ever: her blue eyes go green sometimes; she uses old-fashioned language; and she even loses track of chunks of time, claiming to know nothing about her strange behavior. Their old house is changing, too. Doors open and close by themselves; water boils on the unlit stove; and an unplugged air conditioner turns the house cold enough to see their breath in.

Alexis wants to think that it’s all in her head, but soon, what she liked to think of as silly parlor tricks are becoming life-threatening–to her, her family, and to her budding relationship with the class president. Alexis knows she’s the only person who can stop Kasey — but what if that green-eyed girl isn’t even Kasey anymore?

My Thoughts: I held off on reading this for quite a while because I’m easily scared and this involved ghosts. Ghost stories+chicken me = nightmares. So I waited until a nice, rainy day that I was running a bakesale at the library to get very far in it. But once I got into my reading groove, I could not put this down.

Bad Girls Don’t Die was pretty much everything I wasn’t expecting. It’s quirky, it’s haunting, and it’s mysterious. For the most part, it’s unpredictable too. There was one thing that I figured out but other than that, I was on the edge of my seat.

What I loved most was how subtle the spookiness was. At first, it was just little things and it kept building up until the end. The struggle within Kasey also added so much to the story, from what you got to read about it.

All in all, I definitely recommend this one for those who don’t like scary books but are looking for a little paranormal spookiness.

3 Responses to "Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender"

While i normally read things that are deeper than this book, I really enjoyed it. It was creepy – especially the dolls! – but not overly so.

This has a wicked cover sounds good though

Hey, Harmony! Thanks for the great review. Happy you liked the book so much!

Leave a Reply

Categories

