Harmony Book Reviews

Never Cry Werewolf by Heather Davis

Posted on: July 25, 2009

Never Cry Werewolf

Title: Never Cry Werewolf

Author: Heather Davis

Rating: 9/10

Good If…You’re looking for a fun brat-camp book with a twist.

Summary: (Taken from author’s site)

“Moonlight can totally change your life.
And it all starts so simply.
You. Him. The moon. You’re toast.”
Okay, so maybe Shelby has made a few mistakes with boys lately (how was she supposed to know Wes had “borrowed” that Porsche?). But her step-mother totally overreacts when she catches Shelby in a post-curfew kiss with a hot senior. Suddenly Shelby’s summer plans are on the shelf, and she’s being packed off to brat camp. It’s good-bye, prom dress; hello, hiking boots.
Things start looking up, though, when Shelby meets fellow camper (and son of a rock star) Austin Bridges, III. But soon she realizes there’s more to Austin than crush material—his family has a dark secret, and he wants Shelby’s help guarding it. Shelby knows that she really shouldn’t be getting tangled up with another bad boy…but who is she to turn her back on a guy in need, especially such a good looking one? One thing’s for sure, that pesky full moon is about to get her into trouble all over again.

My Thoughts: This is only the second or third werewolf book I’ve read (Shiver and the Twilight books being the others) and I absolutely love it. Unlike Shiver and New Moon, it wasn’t a gut-wrenching book. For the most part it was highly amusing and just fun in general which is not to say it’s just a laughable book – it’s just not dark and mostly sad.

The idea of a werewolf at brat-camp is completely original. At that to the unique way she spins the werewolf-ism and you’ve got on unique novel.

I couldn’t really relate to Shelby because I’ve never done half of the things she’s done but I loved reading about her. She was just a fun character. Her parents (specifically her step-mother) were ridiculously over-the-top which, unfortunately, made them easy to relate to. (Why is it always the bad parents easy to relate to?!)

I enjoyed reading about her time at brat camp – the counselors just made me crack up half of the time.

The ending was adorable – slightly predictable but unexpected at the same time.

Overall, I highly recommend this. Pick up a copy when it debuts in September!

8 Responses to "Never Cry Werewolf by Heather Davis"

I’m really looking forward to this one. Great review!!!

Wonderful review, and it makes me want to read this book all the more!

“Unlike Shiver and New Moon, it was a gut-wrenching book. ” Do you mean it wasn’t a gut-wrenching book, or did you not find Shiver and New Moon extremely emotional like I did?

hehe.. brat camp. This sounds like a fun book. Thanks for reviewing!

I’m so glad you liked this one! I’m reading it right now and am about halfway through..cannot wait to finish! Good review.

I don’t know about me. So far I haven’t been able ot get into the werewolf thing. Maybe because I didn’t like Twilight at all?

This looks REALLY REALLY good!

Nice review. you made want to order the book.

P.S. I like your blog alot and I will add it to the blogs I am following.

blair lewis
blairwlewis@gmail.com

Ok I have to have this one it looks fab thanks for the review

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

