Harmony Book Reviews

Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott

Posted on: July 23, 2009

Perfect You

Title: Perfect You

Author: Elizabeth Scott

Rating: 10/10

Good If… You’re looking for an emotional contempory novel. (Or you just want a really good book to read.)

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Kate Brown’s life has gone downhill fast. Her father has quit his job to sell vitamins at the mall, and Kate is forced to work with him. Her best friend has become popular, and now she acts like Kate’s invisible.

And then there’s Will. Gorgeous, unattainable Will, whom Kate acts like she can’t stand even though she can’t stop thinking about him. When Will starts acting interested, Kate hates herself for wanting him when she’s sure she’s just his latest conquest.

Kate figures that the only way things will ever stop hurting so much is if she keeps to herself and stops caring about anyone or anything. What she doesn’t realize is that while life may not always be perfect, good things can happen — but only if she lets them….

My Thoughts: This was the first Elizabeth Scott novel I read and even after reading a few more, it remains to be my favorite.

When you start it, chances are it will seem like any other teen novel. But once you get past the first chapter or so, it becomes one of the most realistic books out there. I was blown away by the characterization. Kate’s grandma is my current favorite grandma in teen novels and her parents were slightly abusurd but realistic. Her brother also made me giggle on a few occassions.

Then we have the main three – Kate, Will, and Kate’s ex-friend Anna. I don’t want to give too much away but let’s say that I could easily relate to what Kate was dealing with, with Anna and I really wanted to slap Anna. Oh, and I have the biggest crush on Will possible.

The romance that developed was sweet and heartbreaking and perfect at the same time. Will was so sweet (hence, my crush) but not so perfect that he didn’t act like a normal guy. I could completely see myself acting the same way as Kate did too.

Overall, this book is just one of those books that I’m shoving in all my friends’ faces and going “READ THIS”. I absolutely adore it and I recommend it to absolutely everyone. Perfect summer read with substance!

8 Responses to "Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott"

I still need to read Scott’s novels! Great review!

Good to hear that it’s not like every other teen book. It sounds great! Thanks for the heads up!

This sounds cute! I have yet to read an Elizabeth Scott novel.

I read Elizabeth Scott’s Living Dead Girl and was blown away! Looks like I might check this one out!

The only book I’ve read by Elizabeth Scott has been Something, Maybe, and I currently have Love You Hate You Miss You waiting to be read. I really enjoyed Something, Maybe, and Perfect You sounds really intriguing. All of Elizabeth Scott’s books have the most gorgeous covers!

WOW an another wonderful review my daughter would love this one.

I loved Perfect You as well. Elizabeth Scott really gets it right! For my favorites, it’s between this one and Bloom. Just don’t know if I could pick.

Leave a Reply

Categories

