Harmony Book Reviews

Destroy All Cars by Blake Nelson

Posted on: July 22, 2009

Destroy All Cars

Title: Destroy All Cars

Author: Blake Nelson

Rating: 7.5/10

Good If…You’re looking for a humorous book told from a guy’s POV.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

James Hoff likes to rant against America’s consumerist culture. He also likes to rant against his ex-girlfriend, Sadie, who he feels isn’t doing enough to change the world. But just like he can’t avoid buying things, he also can’t avoid Sadie for long. This is a fantastic, funny, sexy, cool masterpiece from one of the best YA writers at work today, an anti-consumerist love story that’s all about idealism, in both James’s relationship with the world and his relationships with the people around him.

My Thoughts:

This book was LOL funny but also gave me some things to think about and in general, I like books that make me think. It’s definitely a one-of-a-kind book and I loved that.

However, I wasn’t too big of a fan of the narrative. It got on my nerves a lot of the time. This could be in part because it was told from the POV of a male and I’m not used to that but I just found it irritating and at times, that took away from the story. I also want to note that this is for older readers only. There is some…sexual references? I guess you could say, that young readers shouldn’t be seeing. Even I would have preferred for them not to be there but it does hold to the authenticity of the book and it’s just my personal opinion.

Overall, I recommend this one to mature readers. It wasn’t the perfect book for me but I’m sure others will enjoy it much more than I did.

2 Responses to "Destroy All Cars by Blake Nelson"

Sounds great and funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

This sounds like something I would like. I typically enjoy male protagonists over female ones. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

Categories

