Harmony Book Reviews

Hold Still by Nina LaCour

Posted on: July 17, 2009

Hold Still (Dutton)

Title: Hold Still

Author: Nina LaCour

Rating: 8/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

An arresting story about starting over after a friend’s suicide, froma breakthrough new voice in YA fiction

dear caitlin, there are so many things that i want so badly to tell you but i just can’t.

Devastating, hopeful, hopeless, playful . . . in words and illustrations, Ingrid left behind a painful farewell in her journal for Caitlin. Now Caitlin is left alone, by loss and by choice, struggling to find renewed hope in the wake of her best friend’s suicide. With the help of family and newfound friends, Caitlin will encounter first love, broaden her horizons, and start to realize that true friendship didn’t die with Ingrid. And the journal which once seemed only to chronicle Ingrid’s descent into depression, becomes the tool by which Caitlin once again reaches out to all those who loved Ingrid—and Caitlin herself 
My Thoughts: For some reason, I was expecting a lot from this novel and it didn’t really end up being what I expected. That’s not to say the book isn’t good because I definitely did enjoy(if that’s the right word) it – I was just expecting more from it.

Hold Still is definitely a plot driven novel. The characters seemed to take second place while the plot pushed forward. In terms of originality, I thought it was pretty good. I was never expecting what happened next, which is always good. In terms of execution, I wasn’t blown away. It was difficult to keep track of the time gaps and I felt it just could have been done better.

Like I said before, the characters seemed to fall second to the plot. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing but the only character who felt realistic, that had any development whatsoever, was Caitlin. Everyone else was just kind of there. I would have loved to know more about her friends, her family, and especially, her love interest. Their relationship didn’t seem to have any depth.

I guess that makes it seem like I didn’t like this but I did. I just can’t pinpoint why. It wasn’t the characters or the plot execution but there was something that kept me reading.

2 Responses to "Hold Still by Nina LaCour"

I just grabbed a free copy of this from ALA this past weekend. It sounds interesting, but isn’t a high priority at this point.

I’ve heard so much about this one, and I can’t wait to read it. It sounds really interesting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

