Harmony Book Reviews

This Has Been Said Before….

Posted on: July 16, 2009

But authors need to be familiar with the blog before they send a review request! Just since last night, I have received a request to review some random adult book, as well as a picture book. Where on this blog have you EVER seen me review an adult book, unless it’s a crossover, or a picture book?

Now, some of this is probably my fault. I just checked my review policy and, for some reason, I forgot to mention that it was YA/MG only(I’m changing it now). But seriously, if you’ve read my blog at ALL you’ll see that’s what I review.

Did I mention that one of these requests was addressed to “Dear Sir”? That’s a generic form anyway but you know, I’m pretty sure Harmony is a female name. Sometimes, authors mention that they are sure whether to address it to Harmony or someone else because it never really says on my blog whether or not Harmony is my real name. That’s fine. If you address it to Harmony, that’s fine.

Both of these emails were obviously form emails which makes me think they say my blog, grabbed my email, and sent it without checking. Even if I did review picture books/adult books, why in the world would I want to read their book after that?

Bottom line: Authors, pay attention to the blog BEFORE you send a request for review.

Bloggers, feel free to add your input in the comments!

4 Responses to "This Has Been Said Before…."

How ridiculous!

I know! My blog is called Debbie’s World of Books and I still get requests that don’t address me by name. How hard is it to figure out? I also hate when they don’t include book summaries and just ask you to review their book.

I agree! So far I haven’t ran into those problems.

Leave a Reply

Categories

