Harmony Book Reviews

Also Known As Harper by Ann Haywood Leal

Posted on: July 16, 2009

Also Known As Harper

Title: Also Known As Harper

Author: Ann Haywood Leal

Rating: 9/10

Good If…You’re looking for a good MG book.

Summary: (Taken from BN.com)

Harper Lee Morgan is an aspiring poet, which isn’t surprising, seeing as how she’s named after her mama’s favorite writer, Harper Lee. And life is giving her a lot to write about just now. Daddy up and walked out, leaving them broke. Then Harper’s family gets evicted.

With Mama scrambling to find work, Harper has to skip school to care for her little brother, Hemingway. Their lives have been turned upside down, which Harper could just about handle—if it wasn’t for the writing contest at school. If only she could get up on that stage and read her poems out loud . . .

My Thoughts: I figured this book would be good – all of the reviews had been shining and the publicist even said so. I just didn’t realize how good it would be.

Harper is such a relateable character and I felt so bad for her. She had to deal with so much stuff that no one should have to but especially not a 5th grader. She was so strong and I’m sure many readers will be able to relate to her. Hemingway was also such a sweetheart – I loved him so much.

The one problem I did have with the book is that Harper did act a little older and more mature than most 5th graders – throughout the novel, I had her pegged as at least a 7th grader. But since her grade isn’t thrown in your face or anything, it’s easy to forget.

The plot is simply bittersweet. It has its fun moments but it also pulls at your heartstrings and makes you want to cry. I couldn’t get enough of it and I think I rarely put this one down.

I highly recommend this one. In fact, I gave my extra copy to my English teacher and demanded she read it over the summer. I think it’s good for classroom reading and any tween but I also thinking many older teens and adults would be able to take something from the novel. Definitely recommended.

3 Responses to "Also Known As Harper by Ann Haywood Leal"

Great review. Loved how you mentioned Harper came across as a couple years older.

[…] Also Known As Harper by Anna Haywood Leal – requested from publisher […]

[…] Harper is one of the few MG books that I completely adored, as you can see from my review. This is one of the books that I want to share the love on so I’m giving away a copy, […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

