Harmony Book Reviews

Cathy’s Book by Sean Stewart and Jordan Weisman

Posted on: July 3, 2009

Cathy's Book: If Found Call (650) 266-8233

Title: Cathy’s Book

Author: Sean Stewart and Jordan Weisman

Rating: 6/10

Good If… You’re looking for an interactive book with an underdeveloped plot.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

This stunning debut combines reading with the world of internet gaming to create a masterful new genre that will allow teens to take the story from the page into the world of cyberspace and beyond.

Things weren’t so peachy in Cathy’s life before Victor broke up with her. Her father died unexpectedly, she’s failing school, and her best friend is mad at her. But when Cathy decides to investigate Victor’s reasons for ending their relationship, things suddenly go from bad to very, very, very bad as her findings produce more questions than answers. For instance, what does the death of Victor’s co-worker, the strange mark that appeared on Cathy’s arm, and the surreal behavior of several Chinese elders have to do with it?

Through Cathy’s unique and irresistible voice—and lots of proof in the form of letters, photographs, date book entries, telephone numbers readers can call, websites they can access, as well as secrets only a careful reader will be able to decipher—readers will enter a strange and fascinating world where things often aren’t how they appear.

My Thoughts: When I got this in the mail, I was so excited. I’d heard a lot about these books and couldn’t wait to read it. From the first page, I was hooked. But, unfortunately, as the book continued, it slowly began losing its appeal.

For one thing, I was confused half of the time. This is probably partly my fault but I just didn’t understand half of what was going on. That’s always a bad sign. Second of all, the characters and the plot were extremely underdeveloped. Nobody really had their own distinct personality. We got the inside peek at Cathy because it’s her diary but even some of her actions seemed random.

The plot had so much potential. It was new, it was original, and it was extremely underdeveloped. There was a lot of jumping around and it just seemed unrealistic. I guess this goes partly with the characters because a good plot would give the characters more sense.

The one part I did like was the interactive-ness of it. I loved how when you called the numbers, they actually SAID stuff. (Yeah, I tried it!) If you typed a website in, it would tie in with the book. That was the really cool part!

All in all, I think the authors spent a little too much time on the interactive stuff and not enough time developing their characters and the plot. Not too sure I’d recommend this one.

2 Responses to "Cathy’s Book by Sean Stewart and Jordan Weisman"

hmm this is very interesting… i had an idea about this but never acted on it… are there any other interactive books like this? Maybe ill incorporate into the book I am currently writing Check out my brand new blog, it concerns my book http://thewb.wordpress.com/

That’s strange…I haven’t seen any book recently receive such a low rating from you! But I’ll take your word for it.
-Prodhi
prodhi@live.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

