Harmony Book Reviews

The Secret Life of Prince Charming by Deb Caletti

Posted on: June 25, 2009

The Secret Life of Prince Charming

Title: The Secret Life of Prince Charming

Author: Deb Caletti

Rating: 9.5/10

Good If… You’re looking for a compelling story in general or if you’re a fan of Sarah Dessen and are looking for something equally as good to read.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Maybe it was wrong, or maybe impossible, but I wanted the truth to be one thing. One solid thing.
Quinn is surrounded by women who have had their hearts broken. Between her mother, her aunt, and her grandmother, Quinn hears nothing but cautionary tales. She tries to be an optimist — after all, she’s the dependable one, the girl who never makes foolish choices. But when she is abruptly and unceremoniously dumped, Quinn starts to think maybe there really are no good men.

It doesn’t help that she’s gingerly handling a renewed relationship with her formerly absent father. He’s a little bit of a lot of things: charming, selfish, eccentric, lazy…but he’s her dad, and Quinn’s just happy to have him around again. Until she realizes how horribly he’s treated the many women in his life, how he’s stolen more than just their hearts. Determined to, for once, take action in her life, Quinn joins forces with the half sister she’s never met and the little sister she’ll do anything to protect. Together, they set out to right her father’s wrongs…and in doing so, begin to uncover what they’re really looking for: the truth.

Once again, Deb Caletti has created a motley crew of lovably flawed characters who bond over the shared experiences of fear, love, pain, and joy — in other words, real life.
My Thoughts: It took me a while to get into this, partially because I was balancing a billion other things at the same time, but once a few chapters passed, I could not put this down. The Secret Life of Prince Charming is like no book I’ve read before. It’s fun and witty but also heartbreakingly real at the same time.

The writing and POV use are the two things that stood out to me most in the novel. Caletti, like Dessen, includes little things all the time to make the characters seem so much more real. They each have their distinct personalities, even all of her father’s ex-girlfriends/wives, and it’s impossible to get any of the characters confused. Also, instead of the story just being told from Quinn’s POV, there’s little snapshots from each of the women in Quinn’s life telling about their past loves, heartbreaks, and what they couldn’t say. Hearing their stories just added so much more to the novel and helped the reader relate to the adults even more.

The plot was also paced just right. It took a while for any big action to start but the character and world building was there and in the end, it made the book so much better. Once the action did start, it never stopped. Quinn did so many things that I only wish I had the guts to do and the people who helped her along the way were pretty awesome themselves.

Everything about this novel deserves to be praised. I look forward to any future Caletti novels and plan on purchasing her older titles as well.

Recommended.

14 Responses to "The Secret Life of Prince Charming by Deb Caletti"

I love this book! And I completely agree with your review.

I’ve wanted to read this for sooo long…
and the 9.5 just further ignites the craving!

I want this book too 😦

I haven’t read anything by Deb Caletti yet, but this likes a great place to start!

This book sounds great! I enjoyed one of her earlier books, Queen of Everything. It’s definitely a spin from The Secret Life, though.

Great review! The POV sounds interesting, and for some reason I really like the cover.

I am a huge fan of Deb Caletti – Wild Roses is one of the best books I’ve ever read – and this is the first review of this book I’ve seen. I’m glad to know it measures up. Also, I’ve never heard Sarah Dessen compared to her. I’ve yet to read Sarah Dessen, but I want to, and now I want to even more. That’s a really high recommendation. Thanks.

While I admit to not being a fan of Sarah Dessen, my sister certainly is. She adores her. To the point of distraction (she loves Sarah Dessen as I used to love Lurlaine McDaniel back in the 90’s). I’ll be sure to pass this review and book rec on to her! Thank you!

YAY! I can’t wait to get more into this! I just started it a few days ago. Her writing is amazing….

xoxoxo

ReaderGirl Reviews

The cover looks so cute! I really want to read this one.

Deb Caletti is a great author. I look forward to reading this one, her covers are also nice as they tend to match.

I don’t usually read much realistic fiction, but I’ve heard good things about Deb Caletti, so I’d be willing to try this one.

Whoa! 9.5! Awesome!

[…] The Secret Life of Prince Charming by Deb Caletti – requested from publisher […]

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

