Harmony Book Reviews

My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald

Posted on: June 22, 2009

My Life in Pink & Green

Title: My Life in Pink and Green

Author: Lisa Greenwald

Rating: 9/10

Good If… You’re looking for a fun MG read.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Twelve-year-old Lucy Desberg is a natural problem solver. After the local homecoming queen shows up at her family’s struggling drugstore with a beauty disaster that Lucy helps to fix, Lucy has a long line of makeover customers for every school dance and bat mitzvah. But all the makeup tips in the world won’t help save the pharmacy. If only she could find a way to make the pharmacy the center of town again—a place where people want to spend time, like in the old days. Lucy dreams up a solution that could resuscitate the family business and help the environment, too. But will Lucy’s family stop fighting long enough to listen to a seventh-grader?
This book is a funny and sweet debut featuring an unforgettable narrator who knows what she wants, whether it’s great makeup, a killer business plan, or a better world.

My Thoughts: My Life in Pink and Green is such a cute and fun read. I think I read it all in one sitting within the course of an hour or two.

The plot seemed realistic but not in a way that I could relate to it very much. Around here, you go into a drugstore, pick up your medicine, and walk out. There’s no comforting feeling to it, no soda machines, no buying anything that’s not medicine. I never even realized that places like the one Lucy’s family owned existed but I could definitely picture the events in this book happening.

So I wasn’t able to relate to that too much but I was able to relate to Lucy. A lot. She dealt with a lot of problems in a very realistic way. Anyone who has ever had to deal with fighting family members (and who hasn’t?) will be able to relate to her. I also understand what it’s like to be a seventh (or eighth or whatever) grader and not have anyone take you seriously. It’s a pain but Lucy handled it well and was still able to find ways to do what she set her mind to.

I also loved the little tips at the beginning of each chapter about makeup or business or whatever. Very cool and fun!

Overall, I definitely recommend this one to all readers but particularly to tweens and seventh/eighth graders.

8 Responses to "My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald"

I’d been wondering whether or not to buy this one, so it was the perfect time to see your review. Thanks for posting it!

Nice review. I never knew this one was a MG. The cover as well as the synopsis is great.

Glad to hear that you liked it! I enjoyed your review.

sounds so cool!
and love the cover!
😀

I absolutely love this cover! I can’t wait to read this book.

This book has such a cute cover! Sounds like a fun read.

[…] Depth Reviews: Harmony Book Reviews, Kidliterate, Bookworm Readers Posted in: […]

This book was such a good book. I got it at my book fair at my school. I usally dont like reading,buy it looked good so I yhought I would get it and it was awesome . I think its so kewl how the author just made Lucy act like she was a round character when she wasnt . I really loved this book .Thanks to Lisa Greeenwald for writing such an amazing book. ITS AWESOME !!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

