Harmony Book Reviews

Hero-Type by Barry Lyga

Posted on: June 16, 2009

Hero-Type

Title: Hero-Type

Author: Barry Lyga

Rating: 9.5/10

Good If… You’re looking for a book that will make you think about what it means to be an American or a hero,  among other things.

Summary: (Taken from BN.com)

Everyone is treating Kevin as a hero. He was in the right place and the right time and he saved a girl from being murdered. Only Kevin knows though, why he was able to save her. Things get even more complicated when Kevin is seen removing two patriotic “Support the Troops” ribbons from his car bumper. Now the town that lauded him as a hero turns on him, calling him unpatriotic. Kevin, who hadn’t thought much about it up to then, becomes politcially engaged, suddenly questioning what exactly supporting the troops or even saying the pledge of allegiance every day means.

My Thoughts: I waited quite a while between reading this and reviewing it because I wasn’t really sure what to say about it. Until now.

Hero-Type is a really powerful novel in the way that it makes you think. About everything. Very little happens in the novel that doesn’t cause you to question or think. Like those ribbons everyone sticks on their car. What purpose do they have? Seriously. Have you ever thought about that? I hadn’t, not until I read Hero-Type.

The characters in Hero-Type were unique. I could never predict what they were going to do before they did it and I enjoyed the surprise. The one problem I had with Hero-Type is that, at times, the sex jokes and other related things, were overwhelming and made me go “What?!”. But, that’s my own personal opinion and if that stuff doesn’t bother you, you’ll be fine. I just wanted to put it in there as a warning for younger readers.

Other than that, I loved everything about Hero-Type. I loved how it made me think, I loved the characters, I loved the plot, I loved the fact that Lyga had the guts to write something like this, and I love that it’s probably also affecting the other people who read it.

There’s nothing left for me to say expect this – Go buy the book. Read it. Think about it. Then tell all of your friends about.

 

Look for an interview with Barry tomorrow.

8 Responses to "Hero-Type by Barry Lyga"

I really want to read Boy Toy by Barry Lyga, but I’ll make sure to check this one out as well!

Great review. I really want to read this one. It sounds great, I like books that make you think.

Thanks for the honest review! I think I’ll have to check this book out since you said it’s good.

I’ve added this to my wishlist, it definitely sounds like a book I need to read.

Fantastic review – it’s funny when you really have to step back from what you just read to really get how much of an impact it made on you. I may just have to add this to my ever-getting-longer-to-be-read list.

amazing review. you really surpassed yourself, harmony (was that even possible?). so honest.
the book sounds so great i feel like eating it up like i’d eat up a pan crust pizza with all my favourite toppings.
just saying.

I love reading controversial stuff like this, and it’s even better that it’s been rated so high!

[…] seen my gushing review, read the interview, and now you have the chance to win a copy of your […]

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

