Harmony Book Reviews

AOM Contest: The Railway Children

Posted on: June 16, 2009

Since I’ve already hosted a giveaway for Julia Hoban’s Willow, we decided to switch things up a little this month. Instead of giving away her own book, we’re giving away a copy of a book that inspired her: The Railway Children

The Railway Children (Puffin Classics)

Julia says “One day, while hopelessly perusing the shelves of the local bookstore, the contents of which might as well have been written in New Kingdom Hieroglyphics, so incomprehensible were they to me, I came upon an old and stained copy of The Railway Children.  I didn’t even bother to open it, it was in English and that was enough for me, I paid for the book and ran all the way home, terrified that this unlooked for benison would disappear as if it were written in invisible ink….”  To read the rest of the guest blog she did on Booktrib, go here (I really do recommend reading it!)

To enter to win your own copy:

Leave a comment below and tell us about a book that’s had a major effect on your life.

After you’ve done that, you may link to the contest and leave the link in a separate comment.

This contest ends June 30th.

6 Responses to "AOM Contest: The Railway Children"

I just got done reading the book ” The September Sisters” by Jillian Cantor. This book has made such an impact on my life. It’s a story about two sisters who dont get along very much as kids ( which most sisters dont) and then one of the sisters, the younger one, gets kidnapped. It tears her whole family apart and makes her see how much her sister means to her, even though she used to think otherwise. Me & my sister are JUST like this. We act like we dont like eachother and say nasty things to one another. We fight over the love of our parents and hate sharing things. Once I read this book, I told my sister how much I loved her and how much she means to me. I cant imagine this happening to me. I wont ruin the ending of the book for you, in case you would like to go and pick it up yourself (:

– Alyssa

This will sound completely trivial, but Sailor Moon changed my life. The manga (comic), not the anime (cartoon). I’ve loved reading for years upon years–and loved books even before that. I loved being read to. Sailor Moon though…it opened my eyes to a whole different way to enjoy a story. I’d read comics before (big Barry Allen fan), but Sailor Moon was very different from American comics. For one it was in black and white and for another it was intensely character driven, not so much ‘enemy of the month’ driven like a lot of American comics. Sure Sailor Moon had those enemies that were just fly-bys, but her worst enemies were always her friends, or her loved ones.

She could handle (after some time) the goons from whatever Baddie was the enemy that ‘arc’, but when Mamoru turned against her? When she thought he was working for the dark side? She came undone. She couldn’t function. When her future daughter Chibi-Usa became evil and did her utmost to destroy Usagi and her friends, Usagi didn’t know what to do. Watching her struggle to find a solution without hurting those she loved…well it touched me. It helped me through a lot of dark times during my parents’ divorce and mother’s subsequent remarriage. I figured if cry baby Usagi could work through her issues…well then I could to.

As a side note I haven’t read ‘The Railway Children’, but I vaguely remember a BBC production of the same name?

Lexie

I must say that the Nancy Drew books are probably what really made me into a lifelong reader. The immensity and quickness of the books really caught me at a young age and many of my memories at libraries sparked from my obsession with this series. As I got older, I strayed from the mystery books and got into other genres, spending summers in the air conditioning of the library and well I still reminisce about the books from time to time.

[…] also have 3 contests: June Contest, The Railway Children, and Along for the […]

A few months ago, I read Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. This book is about a girl who commits suicide and then records herself telling the reasons why. This book was an eye opener. I never knew that any of my little actions could impact a person so much. I felt changed after I read this book. It was very heartbreaking and realistic. All of the things mentioned in this book, I could picture happening to someone in my grade. This book had a real impact on my life and the way I treat others.

One book that made a deep impression in me was “Me and Emma” by Elizabeth Flock. I don’t want to spoil this for somebody who hasn’t read it, but it’s a book about brutal child abuse and a child’s escape. My daughter was a victim of child abuse and these stories move me in ways that can not be imagined. I can’t begin to know what they go through but to see it from their eyes helps me to understand.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

