Harmony Book Reviews

My Summer Reading Goals

Posted on: June 12, 2009

School’s out and summer’s in which means that my reading time is tripled and the books I read tend to change. in the past, I have used summer to reread series and catch up on random books that I wouldn’t read during the school year. I have a few goals for this summer, which I thought I’d share.

1.) Read all of the review books that I have right now. – This includes all books sent to me by authors/publishers that I’ve received prior to posting this (I’ll be making a list). I think this includes about 20-30 books, some of which don’t come out until next year.

Heartland #19: From This Day On

2.) Get the final books I need to complete my Heartland series and read the whole series through (for some of them, this will be the 3rd time I’ve read them).

3.) Read 1/2 of the other books I have. This includes all books on my shelf that were NOT sent to me by publishers/authors. I have quite a few and since I have so many review books, I haven’t had a chance to read that many.

4.)Read the books at the library I’ve been looking at. I go to the library a couple of times a week and though they don’t have very many books, there are some I would really like to read. I plan on getting to these soon.

5.)Get a head-start on all books I receive this summer. Chances are I’ll receive more books as summer continues and I’d like to get a good chunk of them finished before school starts.

6.) Buy those books I keep looking at. I have a HUGE Amazon wishlist and I hope that I get to purchase some of those books this summer, like books 2+ in the Canterwood Crest series, Prada and Prejudice, and some others. I also want to support the authors I love by buying their books, even if I have an ARC. (Willow is a good example of this.)

Those are my summer reading goals. What are yours?

9 Responses to "My Summer Reading Goals"

Those are some great summer reading goals. Mine are prtty similar. I first need to finish the books I have for summer homework. Then, I’ll move on to the books that I’ve had borrowed from my friends and family that I never got to. After that, I have books from the library that I want to check out. When I’m done with that I want to finish buying some out-of-print books to finish off various series (Fire-us Trilogy, Roswell Series, and The Black Book: Diary of a Teenage Stud series). If I’m lucky, I might make it to all the books I haven’t read on my bookshelf.

I have the same #1 goal as yours. 90% of my books are actually for reviews though. I hope you’ll reach your goals this summer ^^

Wow, you have a lot of goals to complete. Mine is just to read all of the books in my TBR pile which is like 30 books plus other books that will be coming out this summer.

Heyy that’s a really awesome way to go by through your summer vacation! Mine are pretty similar except that I don’t exactly have books in the pile for review. However, I do need to finish all the books that have piled up since I couldn’t read them ll during the school year. Good luck with your plan!

Heartland! I love that series. I definitely need to get back into it. They are so intriguing!

WOW. How DID you get that many review copies? I’m scared to email publishers about it… I don’t know what to say. 😦

Great way to spend your summer vacation 🙂 Wish I was doing that, instead of going to GATLINBURG…

What publishers did you get most of your review copies from?

Sorry… so many questions! 😄 (its supposed to be a face… oops)

Pretty much your goals are on par with mine–the only exception being to finish all the manga that I’ve had forever and a day waiting for me to catch up (KHR I promise to catch up! Only…200 chapters behind…oiy…).

except change #2 to Rogue Angel series and #4 to the books I receive for review from RR@H. I don’t go to my library much, they don’t get in a lot of books I want. I have a silent feud with my librarians over their inability to CHANGE their views on what a good library should have. Privately funded or otherwise I am not okay with the changes they made to the books.

Wow! You’re going to be a busy girl this summer!

My reading goals for the summer is basically this:

Read 100 books. I’ve already read about 30 I think. About a book a day, sometimes two. I’m trying to read some of my own books – but I doubt I’ll get more than 20 done (I have a lot of classics I’m not yet willing to brave!)

My summer reading to-do list sounds somewhat like this, except my TBR pile is towering! I have a lot of reviews to write…

Leave a Reply

Categories

