Harmony Book Reviews

Fade by Lisa McMann

Posted on: June 9, 2009

Fade (Wake, Book 2)

Title: Fade

Author: Lisa McMann

Rating: 9.5/10

Good If… You loved Wake and are looking for an intense, action-packed book.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

SOME NIGHTMARES NEVER END.

For Janie and Cabel, real life is getting tougher than the dreams. They’re just trying to carve out a little (secret) time together, but no such luck.

Disturbing things are happening at Fieldridge High, yet nobody’s talking. When Janie taps into a classmate’s violent nightmares, the case finally breaks open — but nothing goes as planned. Not even close. Janie’s in way over her head, and Cabe’s shocking behavior has grave consequences for them both.

Worse yet, Janie learns the truth about herself and her ability — and it’s bleak. Seriously, brutally bleak. Not only is her fate as a dream catcher sealed, but what’s to come is way darker than she’d feared….

My Thoughts:

As you might remember, I absolutely adored Wake and Fade was no different. I started it about twenty minutes before bed (bad mistake) and then picked it up every spare second I had – I think I even skipped doing my hair in the morning to read it.

Fade picks up pretty much where Wake ends and you’re instantly sucked into Janie and Cabel’s world once again. Since it’s a sequel, there wasn’t nearly as much world-building/getting to know the characters and it jumped right into the action. I must say that I definitely preferred the plot of Fade to Wake. I don’t want to give it away but I just really, really liked it.

Even though the plot moved forward quickly, it didn’t stop the relationships between characters from developing and changing. The Janie/Cabel relationship became much more intense and realistic. I loved reading their conversations and found myself close to tears a time or two.

The ending wasn’t anything spectacular, I can’t really remember the details of it now, but it definitely left me waiting anxiously for Book Three.

Extremely recommended!

13 Responses to "Fade by Lisa McMann"

I’ve heard nothing but compliments on this series. Fade sounds even greater than Wake. I’m really looking forward to Gone. Nice review.

I LOVED Wake, and I’m sure Fade will be even better. I think I’m gonna start reading Fade tonight:D
P.S. don’t you just love Cabel?

I LOVED Wake, and I’m sure Fade will be even better. I think I’m gonna start reading Fade tonight:D
P.S. don’t you just love Cabel?

i just noticed my browser went crazy and posted my comments twice from two of my accounts:S

I still need to read Wake. All I ever hear is how good these books are, so I think I need to get myself some copies.

I wasn’t a fan of Wake, but I’m still looking forward to reading Fade. The writing and idea is just too unique to stop reading about.

I love this series so much! I can’t wait until Gone comes out.

I agree with what you said. I just loved this one, and I’m sooo excited for Gone, though I’m sad it’ll be the last. Sequels in series are often better as, like you said, you don’t have to explain as much and it’s so true…made Fade tons better.

-Lauren

I’ve been meaning to read Wake for a long time and since both have gotten great reviews, I think it’s time I grab a copy from the library. Thanks for another fabulous review. :0

I adore this book and the first one beyond reasoning. I am anxious for Gone to come out already! I give McMann props for not glossing over things–she definitely takes this to a different level dramatic wise.

I enjoyed wake, so I must get fade somehow.

I loved Wake, and if Fade is even better… I must get a copy somehow!

[…] Depth Reviews: Today’s Adventure, Harmony Book Reviews, And Another Book Read… Posted in: […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

