Harmony Book Reviews

Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle

Posted on: May 30, 2009

Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle: Book Cover

Title: Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks

Author: Lauren Myracle

Rating: 8/10

Good If… You’re looking for a summer read full of realistic relationships.

Summary: (Taken from Barnes and Nobles)

Growing up in a world of wealth and pastel-tinted entitlement, fifteen-year-old Carly has always relied on the constancy—and authenticity—of her sister, Anna. But when fourteen-year-old Anna turns plastic-perfect-pretty over the course of a single summer, everything starts to change. And there are boys involved, complicating things as boys always do. With warmth, insight, and an unparalleled gift for finding humor even in stormy situations, beloved author Lauren Myracle dives into the tumultuous waters of sisterhood and shows that even very different sisters can learn to help each other stay afloat.

My Thoughts: The last time I read any of Lauren Myracle’s writing was in the Let it Snow anthology and I wasn’t all that impressed with her writing style. But when I saw the cover of Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks, I decided it was time that I give her writing another chance. It’s a good thing I did because this is one of the funniest books I’ve read in a while.

It opens with a letter between the two sisters. This is your first look into their relationship and you can tell how close they are. But, as the summary itself states and anyone who has a sister would know, things change as you get older and sometimes a summer seems like so much longer. This is where the drama begins unfolding.

Carly is probably my all-time favorite realistic character right now. I love her whole twenty-first century “hippie” vibe and almost wish I could pull off her style myself. The way she handles everything – from the way her parents act to her crazy hair style to the drama with her sister – is realistic. Anna was a little bit harder for me to relate to but she was also a fun character to read about.

Sibling drama is a very touchy territory to write about – siblings do tend to fight over little things but it’s extremely easy to go overboard with the fights. Luckily, Myracle must have some expertise in this area because she wrote everything perfectly. The fights aren’t petty and annoying – they’re realistic and fit in well with the plot.

Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks definitely restored my faith in Myracle. I look forward to her upcoming books and recommend this to everyone.

9 Responses to "Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle"

I loved the TTYN series, so maybe I’ll try this next. Thanks (:

Sounds like a great one for summer, especially for sisters. I really want to get to read this. Love the cover too.

I can’t wait to read this! Great Review!!

This cover is super cute, and this one sounds like the perfect summer read. Awesome review!

hee hee…glad your faith is restored! for real, yay that you liked it. that makes me happy!

i read ttyl and thought myracle was pretty awesome when it came to YA lit. i fell in love in the name of this book…so original! and i can relate to the sibling issues considering how i have a baby sister, although so far we have a pretty good relationship despite the huge age disparity. i’ll be looking forward to read this book:)

I actually just put this on hold at the library and cant wait for it to get in! Not exactly what I’m used to reading, but I love reading in general, so I’m willing to keep an open mind and try new things.!

The cover is extremely cute and I do like sister/sibling stories. Thanks for the review

Love the cover, and I love what I’ve heard about this book and the sibling drama so far, so I’m looking for a copy in my local libraries!

Leave a Reply

Categories

