Harmony Book Reviews

Angels and Demons

Posted on: May 29, 2009

Angels & Demons: The Illustrated Movie Companion

The reason I haven’t been posting a lot this week is because I’ve been reading Angels and Demons. It’s over 700 pages, I was given it on Tuesday, and told I needed to have it done by school today. Yeah…with homework and various concerts, that’s easier said than done.

BUT, once I got into the book, I really couldn’t put it down. The friend I had borrowed it from said it was his favorite book and often commented on how much he loved it so I figured it would be good. (The only reason I even wanted to read it was because he was talking about it.) I just didn’t have a clue what it was about.

Angels and Demons is a pretty complex novel. There’s a LOT of this-symbol-means-that and the whole religion vs. science argument, as well as art history and stuff like that. I was pretty clueless when it came to all of that stuff and I sometimes had to backtrack to understand some things. Even now, I have a feeling that a little bit of it went right over my head. But to me, all of that stuff is so interesting that it kept me intrigued throughout the whole book. Plus, I couldn’t figure out who was at the head of everything so I needed to keep going to figure that out.

I really can’t recommend this enough. It’s complex and genius and will force you to think. Read it!

Has anyone seen the movie? Is it as good as the book?

3 Responses to "Angels and Demons"

i LOVED angels and demons…even more so than the Da Vinci Code. Have you read Da Vinci Code btw? I thik you’ll love that one too. albeit controversial, the books pull you in like blackholes. i also liked Digital Fortress by Brown. Very techy and uber-awesome. i admit the story can get a little too loaded and complicated at times, but it as just sooo amazing that i can’t help but overlook that?
Oh and the third book in the Langdon series, The Lost Symbol, comes out Sept. 15, 2009. Can’t wait *fingers crossed*.

I haven’t read this one yet (or seen the movie, bad me), but I did love The DaVinci Code – which had an illustrated version with great pictures of the places they were and the art they saw. I think Angels and Demons has a version like that as well that I need to get from the library.

I’ve also read Angels and Demons, and it was SO AWESOME! Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see the movie. I guess I’ll have to wait for the DVD.

Leave a Reply

Categories

