Harmony Book Reviews

Three Reviews in One

Posted on: May 11, 2009

On Saturday I became a reading machine and read not one, not two, but THREE freakin’ amazing books. Since these were either books from the library or borrowed from teachers/reviewers, I wasn’t going to review them but they’re too good not to talk about so I’m going to do it all in one post.

Being Nikki (Airhead)

Being Nikki by Meg Cabot

I started this one in the morning since I needed to get it back to the library and once I picked it up, I think I only put it down twice (to eat lunch and stuff). It’s been a while since I read Airhead but I think this was definitely an improvement. It seemed like so much more happened and there was a lot of character development. Of course, since it’s the second in a trilogy (I think?), it opened up a lot of subplots that were never closed up. I felt sososo bad for Christopher by the end and Steven was close to becoming my favorite. It was so fast paced that it didn’t even feel like I was reading a 300+ page book and I finished it in less than two/three hours, which is not normal for me. I can’t wait for the third one, even though we’re probably going to have to wait another year or more for it 😦

StargirlStargirl by Jerry Spinelli

Everyone should be required to read this. Even the guys, who would go “OMG. It’s too girly!!” but should just read it anyway. This one was recommend to me by my English teacher who is requiring that her seventh graders read it over the summer. I can honestly say this is one of the best books I’ve read in a LONG time. I adored everything about it – the plot, the characters, the pacing, EVERYTHING. The whole time I’m reading this going “I want to be more like Stargirl!” and even now, I wish I was. By the end, I was heartbroken that she had done so much for a guy who didn’t appreciate her at ALL but that just made it so much more realistic. I honestly don’t know what else to say about this one other than READ IT. NOW.

Tantalize

Tantalize by Cynthia Leitich Smith

It was late, I was bored, considering whether or not I should just go to bed, and staring at my bookshelves which I had just cleaned. None of the books were sticking out to me but when I had been cleaning earlier, I remember picking this one up and going “ooh, interesting” and I decided that I was in the mood for some vampires and werewolves. I was drawn in the from the first page. Kieren reminded me a lot of Edward with his whole “I don’t want to hurt you” thing going on but he has got to be the coolest werewolf hybrid ever. My only complaint? Why wasn’t he in the book more?! He seemed like one of the main characters but chapters would go by without him showing his face. I must also admit that I was left slightly confused by the whole vampire thing and the ending seemed like the easy way out but I still adored it. When I finished, I was left going “I need more!” I definitely recommend this one. (And now would be a good time for someone to tell me there’s a really amazing sequel that has a ton more Kieren in it!)

7 Responses to "Three Reviews in One"

Wow, 3 reviews in one, how super : D
I love Stargirl the most. I’ll try to get my hands on the book soon. Tantalize is interesting as well.

Great reviews! 🙂 Runaway (3rd Airhead novel) will be out next May; I have yet to read Being Nikki, but I hope to do so soon. And I loved Tantalize!! It’s a great book. There’s only a companion book out now (i.e. same universe, different characters) called Eternal, and then next year, there’ll be a third book that brings the two sets of characters together.

thanks for the reviews. i have airhead and stargirl (as well as its sequel) but havent read them yet. now, i must. 😀 sadly, no traces of tantalize, or eternal, around me yet.

*GIRL(STARGIRL) was definitely an all time favorite. NO MATTER WHAT THE AGE! IT was so cute and I think I read it in the 4th grade and then again this year. Its such a classic, cute novel. If you haven’t read it yet, I definitely recommend it

I’ve only read Tantalize out of your reviews and it was pretty decent. I recently read Eternal by her which involved the same world, but different characters and I enjoyed that one much more, but there was still not enough background of the vampires.

3 reviews, all very good- and you thought they were all good. I wasn’t a fan of airhead but will try being nikki.

[…] Thoughts: Having loved Tantalize as much as I did, I had extremely high expectations. Unfortunately, I must say that this is one of […]

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

