Harmony Book Reviews

You Are So Undead To Me by Stacey Jay

Posted on: May 4, 2009

 You Are So Undead to MeTitle: You Are So Undead To Me

Author: Stacey Jay

Rating: 9/10

Good If… You’re on Team Zombie 🙂

Summary (Taken from Amazon):

Q: HOW MANY ZOMBIES DOES IT TAKE TO RUIN A SOCIAL LIFE?
A: NOT MANY.

Megan Berry is a Zombie Settler by birth, which means she’s part-time shrink to a whole bunch of semi-dead people with killer issues. All Megan really wants is to go to homecoming, but when you’re trailed by a bunch of slobbering corpses whenever you leave the house, it’s kinda hard to score a date. Let’s just say Megan’s love life could use some major resuscitation.

Megan’s convinced her life can’t get any worse – until someone in school starts using black magic to turn average, angsty Undead into scary, hardcore flesh-eating Zombies. Now it’s up to Megan to stop the Zombie apocalypse. Her life – and more importantly, the homecoming dance – depends on it.

My Thoughts: This is the first zombie I’ve ever read and let’s just say that I’m now happy to jump on the bandwagon of Team Zombie.

Undead was a ton of fun to read. I must admit that every time a zombie would show up, I would get all excited just to see how it would all play out. I also wasn’t expecting there to be so much romance but I was happy that it was there, even though it was a tad predictable, and I can’t wait for the sequel to find out what happens next.

Jay did a great job of balancing out the intense “chase” (I’m using that figuratively) scenes and the humorous ones. There were a number of times when I found myself laughing out loud.

My only complaint was that I would have loved for the characters to be fleshed out a little more. I found Megan easy to relate to but none of the other characters stand out in my mind anymore.

I definitely recommend this and I look forward to the sequel.

10 Responses to "You Are So Undead To Me by Stacey Jay"

My thoughts too when I read it!

[…] On Monday, I reviewed You Are So Undead to Me by Stacey Jay. […]

Zombies + Humor + YA = auto win for me. Scratch that. Zombies=Auto win period! But I really enjoyed You Are So Undead To Me and have been eagerly looking forward to Book 2 (Undead Much). It needs to be out NOW.

[…] You Are So Undead To Me by Stacey Jay […]

Definitely on Team Zombie! I’ll be looking out for this one on my next trip to the library.

I’m reading a more serious zombie book right now – The Forest of Hands and Teeth – but I’ve been meaning to pick this one up. It looks like a lot of fun, so I’ll be trying to squeeze that into my summer reading.

I’m not the biggest fan of zombies (werewolves all the way!) but this book sounds so good!

This book looks so awesome! I’m becoming a huge zombie fan and I love stumbling upon others. This one is going on my TBR pile.

I have this book, but haven’t read it yet… It sounds great though, so I’ll move it up in my TBR pile.

It’s amazing how all of a sudden we have a slew of zombie books coming out of the woodwork!

Leave a Reply

Categories

