Harmony Book Reviews

Heartbreak River by Tricia Mills

Posted on: April 12, 2009

 Heartbreak RiverTitle: Heartbreak River

Author: Tricia Mills

Grade: B+

Good If… You’re looking for a romance with more depth than most.

Summary: (Taken from author’s site)

Alexandra Landon once loved running the Grayton River through the Colorado canyons near her home and couldn’t imagine doing anything else with her life but continuing the family’s river rafting business. But that was before her father died in a rafting accident and she developed a full-fledged fear of drowning. It’s been nearly a year since her father’s death, and the arrival of another summer means Alex has to face the river, the question of whether she can ever recapture her love of rafting, and the return of co-worker and former boyfriend Sean Kenley. One way or the other, this summer is going to change Alex’s life forever.

My Thoughts: Going into this, I had no clue what to expect. The summary sounded pretty serious but the cover just screamed “fluff” and I hadn’t read any reviews. During the first few chapters, I began thinking that this could end up being a pretty good novel and soon after, I was drawn in to the point where I couldn’t put it down.

The characters were not necessarily the most original one to ever be written about and I found a few of them to be down-right annoying but the way they were written about and the setting made me forget about that most of the time. I know absolutely nothing about rafting and it’s something I no interest whatsoever in so the fact that it’s set in a rafting business should bore me, right? Wrong! The setting (as I mentioned before) added so much to this novel and propelled it forward more than anything else.

I’ve read a few reviews where they said that this was a predictable book and in a way, it was. You pretty much get the general idea of what’s going to happen from the first few chapters but whenever I thought I had it all figured out, something would pop up to change my mind.

I definitely recommend this one and look forward to any upcoming books by Ms. Mills.

2 Responses to "Heartbreak River by Tricia Mills"

Oh that sounds really good, great review!

Wdebo 🙂

Thanks so much for your lovely review! I’m so glad you liked the book.

Tricia Mills

Leave a Reply

Categories

