Harmony Book Reviews

Paisley Hanover Acts Out by Cameron Tuttle

Posted on: March 29, 2009

 Paisley Hanover Acts Out

Title: Paisley Hanover Acts Out

Author:Cameron Tuttle

Grade: A

Good If… You’re looking for a fun, hilarious read with great characters.

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Always one of the popular kids, sophomore Paisley Hanover gets a rude awakening when she’s booted out of yearbook and into the badlands of drama class. Out of her element but only momentarily out of ideas, Paisley takes action—and an unexpected liking to her drama buddies. The result? An undercover crusade that could bring down the popularity pecking order, and Paisley along with it.

This is the story of how Paisley Hanover gets wise, gets bold, and gets into a hilarious mess of trouble. With a package as fresh and clever as Paisley herself— including a cool slipcase, a fabulous novel, and Paisley’s notebook of embarrassingly funny ideas and doodles—it’s the start of a series that embraces the “Un” in UnUsual.

My Thoughts: When I first picked this up, I hadn’t seen any reviews and figured it would be a mediocre attempt at portraying high school life. As usual, I was completely wrong.

At the beginning of the novel, Paisley seems like your average high school student that runs with the in-crowd. In just a few chapters, you see a different side of her. A side that disagrees with the things her “friends” do but goes along with it just because she wants to be liked. But after hanging out with certain members of the “un-crowd”, Paisley decides it’s time to make a change in the way her school works, and that’s when her character becomes someone most of us aspire to be like. She steps up, does what she thinks is right, and sticks up for the people who need.

I found myself laughing hysterically at certain points in this novel (this was definitely a bad choice to read during the PSSA’s at school) and I just couldn’t put it down. Not only was Paisley a fun character to read about, the other characters, even the ones who didn’t have big roles, were unique and I can guarantee you won’t ever find such a random crowd in any other books.

There’s not much more for me to say about this other than I really enjoyed it and if you’ve been thinking about picking it up, now if the time to do so. (I hear the final copy has some really cool packaging!) I’m anxiously awaiting the sequel.

2 Responses to "Paisley Hanover Acts Out by Cameron Tuttle"

I have not read this book, but it always seemed like a mediocre attempt to me too. I’m glad your review says otherwise!

I like this book. I heard that it comes in a box with cute notebook or something. I wish I could get myself a copy.

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

