Harmony Book Reviews

In My Mailbox

Posted on: February 15, 2009

After the MomentTMI

*I was expecting both of these, though I didn’t know when they’d be coming.  After the Moment looks really good, even though I wasn’t too sure what it was about until I read the back. I’m not positive but it seems like a kinda serious novel. TMI looks really fun and I love the whole blog aspect of it. I can’t wait to get to these!!

The Unauthorized Guide to the Series

*This came from Lauren. I don’t normally read these types of books but I figured, why not? I also recieved Don’t Judge a Girl by her Cover by Ally Carter,  but no cover art is available. I’m really excited for it, though!

I also went to the library and brought home a stack of books so I won’t bother with coverart. I got:

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen This is my favorite SD book and I was in the mood for it but unfortunately, I don’t have my own copy yet. I reread it last night.

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. I haven’t read anything by Anderson yet and since I’ve heard a lot about it, I decided to pick it up.

Cross my Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter. Since I recieved the third book in the mail, I figured it was finally time to read the second.

Sharing Sam by Katherine Applegate and The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros. I picked these two up randomly because they looked good.

Prey by Lurlene Daniels and Semiprecious by D. Anne Love. I’ve only read one book by Daniel’s before but this looked really good so I had to try it. I picked Semiprecious up because I read Defying the Diva and loved it so I wanted to try this one out too.

7 Responses to "In My Mailbox"

I love the cover for After the Moment. It’s so pretty. And TMI sounds really cute.

You picked up some great ones from the library. You must read some of the other Laurie Halse Anderson and Lurlene McDaniel books when you finish these. Also I loved The House on Mango Street. Fast read, but really good!

You have the upcoming Ally Carter too?! SO. JEALOUS. OF. YOU.

I heart Laurie Halse Anderson. I always promote Speak to my 8th grade girls and Fever 1793 to the 7th. I’m excited about her new book Chains. Had a great discussion about it with 6th honors. I like the way you layout the books.

The cover of After The Moment makes me want to go and get it! Look forward to reading your review!

http://brainlair.blogspot.com/2009/02/in-my-mailbox-february-15.html

You had a great week in books. TMI is in my TBR pile and It is slowly moving up the list. Just Listen Is another book that I see many people adoring. I think I have to pick that one up 🙂

Speak is really good. I reviewed it on my blog not long ago. You can find it on my menu if you’re interested. Her latest book, Chains is receiving high praise as well.

The House on Mango Street is good especially if you like short stories. It is a whole story written as a collection of vignettes. Ms. Cisneros is an accomplished poet as well. The sounds of her passages are lyrical and how she describes images read like poetry. I’m a huge fan. I believe we offer a copy in our Prize Bucket at Color Online. We’re currently running a contest. Stop by.

I love the cover for After the Moment. It looks so pretty! Also, Prey is really good! I went through this phase where I only read sad, depressing books by Lurlene McDaniel, and Prey is one of my favorites, along with Telling Christina Goodbye.

And AHHH! Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover. IwantIwantIwant! 🙂

hope.

TMI looks really good. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

