Harmony Book Reviews

Ask Harmony!

Posted on: January 30, 2009

So you know how I asked for questions before? Well, I haven’t gotten around to answering them yet but here’s a bunch of interview questions that Book Chic asked me a LONG time ago that I had yet to answer. Enjoy!

Lightning Round


Alias: Harmony
Headquarters: harmonybookreviews.wordpress.com      
Favorite Book(s): Deadly Little Secret by Lauria Faria Stolarz and anything by Meg Cabot, Sarah Dessen, Stephenie Meyer, or J.K. Rowling
Favorite Author(s): The ones listed above as well as Melissa Walker, Jennifer Banash,  Kate Brian and a zillion others 
Favorite Jelly Bean Flavor: I don’t really eat jelly beans…
Favorite Food: Chinese food!
Favorite TV Show: One Tree Hill!
Favorite Movie: A Cinderella Story
Fictional Character You Relate to Most: I really can’t think of one off the top of my head
Favorite School Subject: English
Least Favorite School Subject: Any type of math!! Yuck!

Actual Questions
1) What made you want to become a reviewer?
Basically, I was bored one day, came across Jocelyn’s blog, and decided I wanted to start one myself. No long story here or anything!

2) Was it difficult to get started with reviewing? What did you do when first starting out to get your name out there?
As for just starting a blog and writing reviews of books I had on my shelf…That wasn’t hard at all. But actually getting my name out there and getting ARCs didn’t happen right away. To get my name out there, I took The Compulsive Reader’s advice and started a Myspace. I also commented on other blogs and emailed other reviewers asking for suggestions.

3) What are your strengths and weaknesses in regards to your blog?
My strength is that I’m going to be honest about whether or not I liked a book. BUT, my weakness is that I generally see much more good than bad in books and I’m very easy to please, therefore I always wonder if it seems like I’m gushing about every other book just to gush.

4) What do you have planned for the future? Anything exciting that’s going to be happening on your blog?
Well, I don’t really have anything planned. I just plan on adding in more features, getting more readers, and expanding the books I read and the authors I interview.

5) What do you like to do aside from reviewing books and blogging? Any hobbies that you enjoy?
I enjoy just reading books to read them, writing (books, short stories…that kind of stuff), scrapbooking, photography, and going to the movies with friends. Oh, and music is my other obsession, second only to books.

6) What are you reading right this very moment (aside from these questions)?
Right now, I’m reading Flygirl. It’s not what I expected but still good. Up next are some books I got from the library. I just finished rereading Twilight for the 100th time.

7) What books are you looking forward to reading, either already released or upcoming?
There’s so many that I want to read that I haven’t had the chance to yet. Three that aren’t released yet that I want so bad are Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen, Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle, and Being Nikki by Meg Cabot. Books that are already released that I really want are Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers, Need by Carrie Jones, and Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston. Oh, and I really want to read Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard and Fairy Tale (previously Fairy Lust) by Cyn Balog!

8) What are your reading turn-ons and turn-offs?
I guess the biggest turn-on is that the beginning, the first chapter, MUST be original and it’s got to capture my attention. If it does, I’m willing to let some not-so-great things slide as the novel goes on because it caught my attention so much. But if it doesn’t, I’ll generally get more nit-picky since it already failed to entertain me.

9) What other book reviewing blogs or author blogs do you enjoy reading that you’d recommend to your readers?
For reviewer blogs, I really enjoy Book Chic, The Page Flipper, The Compulsive Reader, Reviewer X, Becky Book Reviews, and quite a few more. As for authors, I enjoy Jessica Burkhart’s, Mandy Hubbard’s, and Cyn Balog’s.

10) Make up a question that hasn’t been asked and then answer it yourself.
What music are you obsessed with right now?

All American Rejects! I’m addicted to their new cd!!

4 Responses to "Ask Harmony!"

Glad to know more about you! 🙂

Hmm…how many books would you say you own?

YAY!! Great answers. 🙂 Glad you finally got them posted. lol

That was fun to read! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

I was reading your turn-offs and I was reminded of my own reading of The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. It was very slow to begin with, right on through page fifty or so, but it got really good and I love to recommend it to readers.

What is an example of a book that was slow to begin with for you but got really good?

Deidre

Leave a comment


  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories