Harmony Book Reviews

Interview: Jennifer Banash

Posted on: January 24, 2009

Photobucket

In Too Deep is the second book in the Elite series. How has writing and promoting In Too Deep been different than that of The Elite?

Well, I can’t speak really for the promoting because that only just started, but actually, now that I’m thinking about it, I guess the promotion is a bit different this time around because I now have relationships with review sites and bloggers like yourself that I had to build when promoting THE ELITE. Building those relationships took a lot of time and energy, even though I loved every minute of it.  So I guess it feels a little more laid back this time around—though it shouldn’t feel that way with the business of books being as dire as it is at the current moment in time . . .Writing IN TOO DEEP was a lot more fun because I already had all the characters set up, and book one to work off of.  I felt like I could really run with the plot . . . and force the characters to do my evil bidding MWAHAHAHAHA!!!  *Insert evil laugh*

The drama was definitely kicked up a notch in In Too Deep from the previous novel. What made you decide to focus on everyone’s drama, no matter what it is, instead of just focusing on one particular character’s drama? Why do you think it’s important to show so many sides of the drama?

I’ve always been interested in multiple perspectives as a writer and a reader.  I’ve just never felt like you could even hope to get the whole story from just one character’s perspective.  I also have a ten-second attention span, tops, so I get bored with one character very easily. Which is why books written from only one character’s POV don’t really do it for me a lot of the time unless they’re insanely well written and engrossing. One of my favorite novels is Bret Easton Ellis’ THE RULES OF ATTRACTION and it jumps around from one character to the next in terms of POV. I remember it made a really big impression on me back when I first started writing because of this technique.  I knew immediately that it was something I was interested in exploring in my own writing life. Also, drama is never completely one-sided.  There are always so many rumors and different interpretations of whatever’s going on within a group of friends

The third book in the series, Simply Irresistible, debuts this July. Can you give us any sneak previews or hints about what’s going to happen? 

The only thing I can tell you about SIMPLY IRRISISTIBLE is that if you thought IN TOO DEEP was a hot mess of drama and intrigue, fasten your seatbelts because you’re in for a bumpy read! When the Upper East Side’s most elite group get their own reality TV show, the gloves come off and the claws come out! And it all happens in the spotlight . . .

Here’s your chance at shameless self promotion. Why should those people who haven’t already picked up your book be sure to do so when they visit the bookstore again?
THE ELITE isn’t just your average, pandering, run-of-the-mill teen series.  It gives teens an all-access pass into a glamorous world, to be sure, but that glamour is tempered by real issues like divorce, infidelity, self-mutilation, peer pressure, and rebellion.  If you’re looking for a screamingly fun read that also has a sense of morality, pick up THE ELITE and IN TOO DEEP.
Is that shameless enough for you?  J 
 
What’s one thing most people don’t know about you?
 That I can be really shy unless I really know someone.  I generally am afraid of most people, which makes me hang back unless I’m really comfortable. Because I seem so outgoing, most people mistake my aggressiveness for confidence.  In reality though, I’m just as nervous and self-conscious as everyone else—if not more so.
3 Responses to "Interview: Jennifer Banash"

[…] I also love the answers Jennifer Banash gave in this interview. […]

Great answers…awesome interview! I have Elite but have yet to read it. Shall dig in soon:)

Great interview! I haven’t read any of her books yet, but maybe I’ll give them a try!

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

