Harmony Book Reviews

Fancy White Trash by Marjetta Geerling

Posted on: January 20, 2009

 Fancy White TrashTitle: Fancy White Trash

Author: Marjetta Geerling

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Finding love is simple with the One True Love Plan.

“If only life were as easy as your sisters.” Abby’s heard that one before. And it’s true —Shelby and Kait aren’t exactly prim and proper. Abby is determined not to follow in their footsteps, so she has created the One True Love Plan. The most important part of the plan is Rule #1: Find Someone New. This means finding a guy who hasn’t already dated Shelby or Kait. But when Abby starts falling for the possible father of Kait’s baby, she has to figure out if some rules are meant to be broken.

This debut novel, a modern comedy of errors, is as lighthearted and irreverant as its title.

My Thoughts: School Library Journal compared this to Meg Cabot’s Pants on Fire, which made me laugh. No, no, and no.  This novel was not Meg Cabot comparison worthy. Notice that I didn’t even rate this one. Why? Because it was so ridiculous that I was laughing the whole way through it and I like books that make me laugh. BUT, anyone who’s looking for a book that isn’t full of drama and dramatic romance will definitely not like this because the plot goes something like this:

The main character, Abby, has two sisters. Shelby is 21 and has a baby and Kait, who is only a few years younger, is pregnant. Her mom and dad have been married and divorced twice and now her mom’s pregnant again. The problem? The dad of Kait’s baby and her mom’s baby is the same person.

And, believe me, that’s only the start of the drama. Even Abby admits it – her life is like a soap opera.

I did enjoy this book but you’ve got to go into with the right mindset. So if you’re looking for something filled with drama, this is your book!

5 Responses to "Fancy White Trash by Marjetta Geerling"

I love drama but why don’t I attracted to this one? Thanks for the review Harmony.

I LOVVEEDD this book. Meg Cabot? I think it compares to her. She rocks and I love Cody. Abby is ridiculous and Jackson is cool too. 😀

Marjetta Geerling is such a great writer. Not only that but she’s so funny. Her gift. Being Witty.

I love Ms. Geerling and her book b/c I remember when she was writing this book so now seeing that her book is such a hit I feel so proud to be her student. Her book has that mix of drama, romance, comedy, realness that gives you the desire to keep on reading. I remember I read that book in 2 days! Ms. Geerling you rock!

Dude your book is ausome I loved
I liked so much that it inspired me to write my own book
look forward to seeing my name, Bailey Wallace, on the cover of the book

THIS BOOK ROCKS! im recommending it to al my friends. ;D i love cody and jackson and abby! I read this book to the end until about 2am at night. I couldnt stop! Wonderful novel. Romance. Drama. Hilarious. All in one. 😀

Leave a Reply

Categories

