Harmony Book Reviews

Beautiful Americans by Lucy Silag

Posted on: January 17, 2009

 Beautiful AmericansTitle: Beautiful Americans

Author: Lucy Silag

Rating: 7/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

What happens in Paris…

Secrets–
PJ’s deep blue eyes and angelic long blond hair conceal a truth that’s anything but. Will her dark past stay where it belongs in the backwoods of Vermont, or haunt her in the city of light?

Passion–
Always the good girl, Olivia plans to twirl her way to the top of the Parisian ballet scene. But that’s not supposed to include dancing on a table all night…or stumbling into the arms of the wrong boy.

Lies–
With his emo-trendy bedhead, hilarious comebacks and Southern drawl, Zack could win over anyone. Too bad he’s after the only one who’s forbidden…

Scandal–
All Alex wants from Paris is to nab that berry-red Dior coat and seduce the perfect penny-loafer-wearing boy – and Alex always gets what she wants. But will her scheming pay off? Or is she risking more than she knows…?

Alex, Olivia, Zack and PJ are spending a year at the prestigious Lycée de Monceau in the sparkling city of Paris. This is their chance to sip cafe au lait in Le Marais, throw secret parties in their host families’ Versailles-size apartments, and have the time of their lives. But when the secrets they thought they left behind come out, everything could be ruined…

My Thoughts:

From all the reviews I’ve read, I thought this would be a book that I’d start and be hooked from Page 1. When I started it, I was intrigued. Each character had their own voice and their own story. However, after the first few chapters, I began losing interest.

Though the chapters were evenly divided, I felt Alex ran most of the novel. PJ and Olivia seemed to take the back-burner, with their more quiet voices, though their stories, to me, were much more interesting than Alex’s “Oh no! My mother cancelled my credit card. Isn’t that just AWFUL?”. Zack was somewhere inbetween. I would have liked more from his POV but he showed up in a lot in everyone else’s chapters.

90% of the plot seemed to just be the four of them running around Paris, getting in trouble, and whining. Which probably wouldn’t have bothered me too much had I not been expecting something more. Real adventure, perhaps. And I would have really like to have seen more Paris. Sure, there was some name-dropping in there but that could have been anywhere, not just Paris.

The last fifty pages were definitely the redeeming point of the novel for me. The action picked up, everyone’s stories started coming together, and everything really happened. I only wish that it had started another hundred pages earlier.

Fortunately, Silag definitely knew how to write a cliff-hanger and I do plan on reading the second book, which comes out in Fall 2009, if only to find out what happens to PJ.

1 Response to "Beautiful Americans by Lucy Silag"

I heard bad and good things about this book, maybe bad more than good but yeah, I’m still dying to read Beautiful Americans. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Harmony.

Leave a Reply

Categories

