Harmony Book Reviews

Lisa Schroeder on Alice in FAR FROM YOU and How She Got Her Name

Posted on: January 1, 2009

I want to thank Harmony for having me here as Author of the Month and to be the first to wish her a happy blogiversary as she celebrates one year of her rockin’ review site in January!!

To finish up the month, I thought I’d do a guest blog and talk about one of the elements in my book, FAR FROM YOU and how I tied it into the story. I had always wanted to do a book with elements from the classic story, ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND. I love that story and I love Alice. So when I began writing FFY, with only a general plot in my head of how it would go, I thought, okay, this is going to be the book. I didn’t know how the story of Alice would play out, but I decided the MC’s mother would be a huge fan of the story and name her daughter after Alice. And that’s how it began.

As I wrote, it was so fun to see how ideas would come to me to tie the classic story into mine. I don’t want to say a lot because I don’t want to give anything away, but here’s one small snippet, to give you an example

“I read about Alice                          

d

r

o

p

p                                       

i

n

g

down the rabbit hole

and growing small

and growing big

and growing small again.          

Alice was

by herself

down that hole.  

She wanted

to follow                                       

the rabbit

so bad,

but she wasn’t able to.

I’m pretty sure

I knew

exactly

how she felt.”

So, to celebrate Harmony’s one year blogiversary, I’m giving away a FANTASTIC prize for those Alice in Wonderland lovers out there. You can choose between an Alice in Wonderland necklace or bracelet made by Seedsstudio at www.etsy.com. You can see them here:

For one entry, leave a comment below and tell us who your favorite character is in the book ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND. Blog about the contest and leave the link, and you get a second entry.

You have until January 15th to enter. Soon after, Harmony will draw a name, and then I will contact the winner to get mailing information and order your choice of the necklace or bracelet to be sent directly to you.

Good luck and thanks for reading! If you read FAR FROM YOU, I’d love to hear what you think. You can always contact me through my web site: http://www.lisaschroederbook.com. 

 

 

29 Responses to "Lisa Schroeder on Alice in FAR FROM YOU and How She Got Her Name"

My fave character is Tweedledum. However, the Etsy link didn’t work for me!

My favorite character is the Cheshire Cat.

Oh, it’s a toss up for me between the Cheshire Cat and the Caterpillar. =D I love Etsy shops, there is so much incredible stuff on there!

My favorite character is of course the Cheshire cat.

I haven’t read the book…but when I saw the play, I really loved the Caterpillar.
And for the new movie, I’m excited to see what The Mad Hatter is all about. I need to read the book though….

Yay contest!
Lauren

I’m not sure if you just wanted Alice in Wonderland or if Through the Looking Glass Counts, but the Red Queen is my favorite! “’Now, HERE, you see, it takes all the running YOU can do, to keep in the same place. If you want to get somewhere else, you must run at least twice as fast as that!’”

My favourite I think is the White Rabbit.

AHHHHH! I’m so much in love with Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, it’s not even funny. I’d love a necklace or bracelet to go with the new AIW shirt I got for Christmas. 🙂

Anyway, my favorite character? Has to be the Cheshire Cat. Haven’t seen the movie, but in the book he’s awe-inspiring. And besides, who doesn’t love a nice, fat ol’ cat? 🙂

Thanks for the contest, Lisa – loved your first book, and can’t wait to read FAR FROM YOU!

I love the Cheshire Cat 🙂

Definitely the Cheshire Cat!

I actually just bought the book recently because I’ve read parts of the story and seen productions of it but never really *read* it…but I really like Alice because I like the idea of just a girl thrown into that crazy world 🙂 Maybe after I read it I’ll come up with a definite favorite character, though 😀

My favorite character is the mad Queen. She’s just such an interesting character. Plus, the whole story, even when she’s not in it, revolves around her.

the mad hatter thanks for the contest

I like Alice of course. I like her mostly because I can relate. Some days it feels like I fell down a rabbit hole.

I love the Cheshire Cat! I even have a Cheshire Cat pin.

I love the white rabbit!!

Alice is my favorite. I can relate to her. I often feel I have too many choices or that I’ve made the wrong choices. And I never know who I should believe.

My favorite is Cheshire Cat. Thanks for the giveaway opportunity.

the cat

I love the necklace but the bracelet is cute too! My favorite is Alice!

I love the Cheshire Cat

I can’t see the jewelery, but I’m sure it’s great. My favorite? I am fond of the Cheshire Cat.

The Chesire Cat. Obviously.

So many great characters to love…the cat…mad hatter….but I’m down for the main girl, I love Alice!

Leave a Reply

Categories

