Harmony Book Reviews

Books as Presents

Posted on: December 7, 2008

I’m a sole believer in giving books as presents, whether it’s for Christmas, birthdays, or just because. In fact, everyone if either getting a book or something homemade (via Etsy.com) from me as a Christmas present this year. There’s a few sites out there dedicated to spreading the word about books for holidays, like this one. Reviewers, like Teen Book Review, have even made posts dedicated to the best books to give as presents. Which is exactly what I plan on doing. Except, I’m going to skip over the super-popular ones (but if you know someone who hasn’t read Twilight yet, force them to!), and some of them probably aren’t all that new. Nevertheless, here are MY picks for the holiday season:

Deadly Little Secret

 

 

Touch #1: Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz –I’m pretty sure I’ve made it obvious how much I absolutely adore this novel so there’s not much for me to say about it here other than: GO BUY IT. NOW.

 

 

Undone

 

Undone by Brooke Taylor – I recently reread this book. Then, I reread it the next night. Granted, I was only reading my favorite parts (which are about 80% of the book) but it reminded me how much I adored this book when I first read it. The characters were realistic, the plot original, and it was just an all-around great book. For me info, see my review here.

 

I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone

 I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone by Stephanie Kuehnert- I loved this book, as I’m sure many of you did too. The plot was absolutely amazing Stephanie’s writing kicks ass. And the cover is pretty awesome, isn’t it? But, due to content I recommend this only for older readers. For more info, see my review here.

 

 

Cover ImageArtichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee-  I absolutely adored this book. The characters were great and the plot was one of the best I’ve read this year. I recommend it to everyone but if you’re buying for someone with a weight issue, this may be the book to get them. You will not sound  preachy or offensive (atleast, not to most people) and the reader will be taken on a wild journey. Definitely recommended.

Cover Image

In Your Room by Jordanna Fraiberg- This book is ridiculously cute and if you’re looking for a clean, fun book to give to your friend or niece or granddaughter or just a random person, this is the one I recommend. It’s not heavy but there’s more depth than what you would expect. For me info, see my review here.

 

 

So there you have it. These are my Top 5 picks for the holiday season. If you’d like to see more, let me know. (I’m thinking of doing on one series?)

4 Responses to "Books as Presents"

I liked In Your Room!
I also plan on giving books for gifts. Well except for my sister she’s getting a guitar pick. I try to get her to read but…it’s useless. Actually she did read Impulse, Twilight, and New Moon! Nothing since though *sigh*

I just finished reading Deadly Little Secrets and it’s amazing!
I loved it so much and I can’t wait for the next book.
😀

My type of girl!! Since I was about 17 all I’ve asked for from my dad is an amazon gift certificate–do you have any idea how far I can stretch a $200 GC? I think the most I’ve gotten was 36 books/GN’s. My mom refuses to give me money or GC’s anymore because all I want are books. Apparently she thinks I have an addiction.

I tend to give books as gifts to those I know who will actually appreciate them–my sister, my dad, my stepsister, my friend Melissa. My bro rather would have a DVD or video game so he’s a lost cause. My mom doesn’t read too much anymore (and really only reads Amy Tan–i gave her a complete set already–and non fiction I wouldn’t touch with a ten foot pole). I like finding weird books for my friends who don’t read as much–stuff like ‘Murphy’s Law and Other ways things can go wrong’ and ‘There is no such thing as Central New Jersey and other myths of the Garden State’.

I’ve said it some where else that I love lists of books- I enjoy receiving books and giving them to people that read. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone looks really good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

