Harmony Book Reviews

Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs

Posted on: December 6, 2008

Oh. My. Gods.Title: Oh.My.Gods

Author:Tera Lynn Childs

Rating: 7.5/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

A modern girl’s comedic odyssey in a school filled with the descendants of Greek gods.

When Phoebe’s mom returns from Greece with a new husband and moves them to an island in the Aegean, Phoebe’s plans for her senior year and track season are ancient history. Now she must attend the uberexclusive academy, where admission depends on pedigree, namely, ancestry from Zeus, Hera, and other Greek gods. That’s right, they’re real, not myth, and their teen descendants are like the classical heroes—supersmart and superbeautiful with a few superpowers. And now they’re on her track team! Armed only with her Nikes and the will to win, Phoebe races to find her place among the gods.

My Thoughts: I’d heard the good, the okay, and the ugly about this book so I was slightly hesitant about picking it up. But, in the end, I really did end up enjoying it.

The plot was full of the old and new. There’s still the normal relationship, family, and friendship drama, as there is in most novels, but there’s also the new Greek Mythology twist. Which, I think, will probably take everyone for a spin. However, there were certain parts that seemed rushed and forced. Phoebe went from having it all to being told her mother is marrying some random dude (I don’t think it ever explained how they got together, really) she met while reconnecting with her deceased husband’s family, and then, all of a sudden, they’re on a boat and Phoebe is being told that all those mythical Greek gods they learned about in school are actually REAL. And she’s supposed to go to school with hundreds of them.

Personally, as a Greek history geek, I loved all of the mythology references. They added so much to the story and the fact that everyone at the school was a descendant of one of them, just made it all the more fun. Especially when they’re related to more than one God, which they like to keep hidden from everyone. (*coughGriffincough*)

The main characters were pretty well developed and the minor characters were also easy to relate to. Out of all of them, Griffin was my favorite. I loved the role he played in the book, from the dare to his “secret” relationship to a certain Greek god and his total awesomeness.

All in all, it was a good book. I was able to finish it in just one day and though it was somewhat predictable, I would different recommend it. Just don’t take it too seriously or too lightly. I’ll definitely be awaiting the sequel eagerly.

3 Responses to "Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs"

I’ve seen this book a lot but was always on the edge with buyig it. I pretty sure your review just pushed me over. Time to go to Borders!!

I’ll have to add this to my wishlist–I love when books use mythology and twist it and now I wanna know what Griffin’s secret is!!

I enjoyed this book and want to read Goddess Boot Camp.

Leave a Reply

Categories

