Harmony Book Reviews

Paper Towns by John Green

Posted on: December 4, 2008

Title: Paper Towns              

Paper Towns

Author: John Green  

Rating: NA (See Below)

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life–dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge–he follows.

After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues–and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

Printz medalist John Green returns with the brilliant wit and searing emotional honesty that have inspired a new generation of listeners.

My Thoughts: I’m finding it impossible to rate this one. My feelings about it are completely mixed. I’ve read nothing but shining reviews for this one so it had a lot to live up to and I’m not sure it did. On the other hand, it was definitely an interesting read.

Paper Towns starts off with young Margo and Quentin finding a dead body. Then you fast forward a few years to their senior year. They’re still neighbors but in completely different cliques. Until Margo climbs back through Quentin’s window and demands they go for an adventure. At the end of the night, Quentin is sure things will have changed by morning. And they have, but not really for the better. Margo is gone. But she’s left a trail of clues. Or so he thinks.

It sounds really exciting and I guess it is. I loved the whole midnight adventure part. But, after that, there was nothing that really kept me intrigued. Sure, I wanted to know what was going to happen to the characters but not to the point where I couldn’t put the book down. Everything just seemed so dry and bland. Probably about 50% of the book was all about Quentin worrying about Margo. So, while I was reading the book, I didn’t think it was all that special.

Fastforward a few hours after I’ve finished the book. I’m on the computer, chatting with my friends, when I go “Holy crap” and start thinking about the book. Then I realized I loved it. I can’t say what it was. But this book, as a whole, affected me. There was a raw truthfulness about the paper people in paper towns and how while they weren’t always real, the memories were. That just really struck home with me.

So I can’t really grade this book because as I was reading it, I really thought it kind of sucked. I still feel no attachment to the characters but looking back on the story as a whole, it still wasn’t what I expected but there was definitely something about it that would make me recommend it.

5 Responses to "Paper Towns by John Green"

If you want a bad review of it, go here: http://inthecurrent.blogspot.com/2008/10/paper-towns-review.html

Although it’s really more of an immature one than “bad” per se.

Really good review though- well thought out and quite honest! 🙂

I nominated you as one of my favorite blogs!! (Info on my blog!)

I felt the same way about the Hunger Games. As I was finishing the book, I thought that I SHOULD have enjoyed the book since it was only getting rave reviews.

PAPER TOWNS is complicated, isn’t it? John Green can be so funny–remember the black Santas?–no one compares. I was surprised by how much this book scared me in parts. Reading it definitely brought out a bunch of different emotions in me, both good and bad. Clearly, the same thing happened to you.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

