Harmony Book Reviews

Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Posted on: December 3, 2008

Title: Deadly Little Secret            

Deadly Little Secret

Author: Laurie Faria Stolarz

Rating: 10/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Some secrets shouldn’t be kept…

Up until three months ago, everything in sixteen-year-old Camelia’s life had been fairly ordinary: decent grades; an okay relationship with her parents; and a pretty cool part-time job at the art studio downtown. But when Ben, the mysterious new guy, starts junior year at her high school, Camelia’s life becomes anything but ordinary.

Rumored to be somehow responsible for his ex-girlfriend’s accidental death, Ben is immediately ostracized by everyone on campus. Except for Camelia. She’s reluctant to believe the rumors, even when her friends try to convince her otherwise. She’s inexplicably drawn to Ben…and to his touch. But soon, Camelia is receiving eerie phone calls and strange packages with threatening notes. Ben insists she is in danger, and that he can help–but can he be trusted? She knows he’s hiding something… but he’s not the only one with a secret.

From the best-selling author of Blue is for Nightmares comes a story of paranormal romance that’s sure to be a thrilling and chilling teen favorite.

My Thoughts: If you’ve been paying any attention, you’ve probably figured out that I absolutely adored this book. I even hosted a contest to let people guess it, just because I loved it so very much. So why did I love it?

For one, it was so full of emotion and it seemed real. Yes, most YA books have lust or longing or whatever but in Deadly Little Secret there was more than that. There was fear, longing, trust, and a million other feelings that really came through in the characters to the point where my stomach hurt in parts and I *almost* cried at the end. There were even a few times where I was laughing out loud. (The people in my study could vouch for that one.)

And for there to be some much emotion, that means that the characters were well developed. Honestly, there were some characters (Camelia’s friends and parents specifically) who weren’t the most developed characters in the world but Cam and Ben… I honestly felt like I knew them, even with all of their secrets.

Which brings us to the plot. Reviewer X compared it to Twilight in a million different ways and I actually agree with some of them. There may be some similarities to Twilight but there’s a million things different, which I personally thought made the book quite original. It was drawn out just enough with so many twists and turns, that it kept me intrigued until the end, even though I figured out the “stalker” halfway through.

As far as I’m concerned, this is probably one of the best (if not the best) book I’ve read this year and I don’t say that lightly. I also recommend giving it as a gift this holiday season.

7 Responses to "Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz"

Hey! Yeah, I remember when you finished reading this book and you were all excited about it 🙂 It’s funny you thought there was so much emotion and realism, etc, to this book. I, on the other hand, thought it fell a bit flat on some of its intended drama. And to be honest, I thought it was quite ordinary, if not a bit forgettable. I was really disappointed with how underdeveloped criminal mind in it – I don’t think you can create a good thriller without stimulating stakes.

Steph

I got a copy of this book from my librarian and it was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good!!!! I loved it and can’t wait for the sequel. I cried at the end and found myself laughing aloud in places. A Winner!!!

A great review! I can’t wait to read it. I love Stolarz’s books!

I am so excited. Ever since your guessing contest, I have been dying to read this.

I am the first person to request it at my library so hopefully, I won’t have to wait long. I may just run out and buy it while I am doing some last minute Christmas shopping.

I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[…] Since today is my official anniversary, I’ve decided to give away my own ARC of my absolute favorite book of ‘08. You can see my review here. […]

OMG i luv thins book its da best book ive evr read 🙂 cant wait till da next book

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

