Harmony Book Reviews

Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky

Posted on: December 1, 2008

Title: Anatomy of a Boyfriend

Anatomy of a Boyfriend

Author: Daria Snadowsky

Rating: 9/10

Summary: (Taken from Author’s site)

Before this all happened, the closest I’d ever come to getting physical with a guy was playing the board game Operation. Okay, so maybe that sounds pathetic, but it’s not like there were any guys at my high school who I cared to share more than three words with, let alone my body. Then I met Wes, a track star senior from across town. Maybe it was his soulful blue eyes, or maybe my hormones just started raging. Either way, I was hooked. And after a while, he was too. I couldn’t believe how intense my feelings became, or the fact that I was seeing—and touching—parts of the body I’d only read about in my Gray’s Anatomy textbook. You could say Wes and I experienced a lot of firsts together that spring. It was scary. It was fun. It was love. And then came the fall. 
                         Daria Snadowsky’s unflinching dissection of seventeen-year-old Dominique’s first relationship reveals all the ecstacy and agony of love, and everything in between. 

My Thoughts: I was a bad girl. I read this book a LONG time ago, probably towards the end of summer. Then I wrote a review and lost it. Then I kept saying “Gee, I should probably write another review.” Yeah, that didn’t work to well. So, Daria Snadowsky, I apologize for taking so long to review your book!

But, even though some of the details aren’t clear anymore, I remember racing through this book. I couldn’t put it down. But, I also refused to take it out of my room, because it made me giggle every five seconds, and if someone were to catch me reading it, I would be embarrassed for life.

Dom was so easy to relate to. She had depth and wasn’t just some crazy hormone-driven slut. Amy was absolutely hilarious. Wes, on the other hand, is an absolute idiot. Of course, I didn’t actually realize that until halfway through the book because I, like Dom, thought he was some ridiculously sexy and perfect guy. NOT. Really, though, isn’t that what makes this book so real? Ridiculously sexy guys aren’t perfect and they WILL break your hot. It happens. It’s life.

I’ve seen a lot of people compare Anatomy to Judy Blume’s Forever… I read Forever… way before I was supposed, when I shouldn’t have even known about half that stuff but I loved it. Just like I loved Anatomy. Both books had relateable characters, real-life situations, and never got too graphic.

There’s really not much else I can say about this book. I absolutely adored it and I recommend it thoroughly. HOWEVER, due to content, I recommend this for mature teens only!

1 Response to "Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky"

Anatomy of a boyfriend is a book that I have known about, wanted but have always put to the side. Reading this review makes me want to read it again- I’ll have to try and get it before I forget.

Leave a Reply

Categories

