Harmony Book Reviews

Twilight Movie

Posted on: November 21, 2008

So I went to see the Twilight movie premiere last night (well, this morning) and I liked it. Actually, I loved it and I plan on seeing it again. It definitely wasn’t perfect because I definitely had some issues with certain scenes but it almost made me tear up and squeal.

But, looking around the cyberspace, I’ve found that many people don’t feel the same way. And to that I say this: THE MOVIE IS NOT THE BOOK SO DO NOT EXPECT IT TO BE LIKE IT! Hollywood is smart. They like making money. So, what do they do? They take a mega-popular book and turn it into a movie with a Harry Potter hottie, keeping the major points but changing a lot. It’s what they do. If you don’t like it, then don’t go see the movie. Besides, how are they supposed to fit all of the little details of a 400+ page book into a two hour movie?

That being said, here are my major issues:

There’s not enough tension in the romance part! She sees him, he stares at her, he leaves, comes back, introduces himself, saves her from a car, ignores her, she talks to Jake, and then informs him she knows what he is. Great. But there’s supposed to be more to it than that! Where’s the innocence that it starts out with? It pretty much lasts through the whole movie!

My other major problem was when Edward was sucking Bella’s blood. It was creepy. I get that they had to show how hard it was for him to stop but seriously, that was not the way.

That being said, I lovelovelovelovelove the way Robert Pattison showed all of the emotions. The longing about he shouldn’t be with her, the pain of what he is, etcetc. PERFECT. He was also ridiculously hilarious. (“Google It”)

Kristen was a perfect Bella. She played the clumsy and the whole falling in love with what she couldn’t have well. Loved it.

And the kiss scene. OMG. (Yes, I did just say that) It was great. Pattison played Edward’s emotions at the end very well.

I pretty much loved all those little scenes.

Kellan Lutz as Emmett was a genius idea. He was hilarious and played the part so well. Nikki Reed played Rosalie SO well (I loved the part when they were fixing Bella dinner). Ashley Greene as Alice was perfect. I loved her hair and she was exactly as I pictured Alice.

The other major-minor characters (Tyler, Mike, Eric, Jessica, etc) weren’t really what I was expecting but I loved their personalities and I think they did a great job.

So basically, I loved the movies. They as true to the books as you can expect Hollywood too, the actors were great, and the suspense and emotions were right on. I can’t wait to go see it again!!

4 Responses to "Twilight Movie"

You read my mind on the Edward sucking her blood thing! Totally creepy and weird. I loved Bella’s friends at school, I really didn’t think they would be so funny. As for the Cullen family, I agree that Emmett was definitely the one they cast exactly right!

You hit my ideas pretty much dead on. I LOVED it too. I want to go see it again, but I know I won’t be able to. 😦 I’m deifnetly going to get it when it comes out on DVD though. 🙂

One thing that I didn’t like, besides what you mentioned, was the Cullen’s house. I wish it was a bit more like it was described in the book. It was still a georgous house, but if it was a little more older looking, I would’ve been even happier with it.

I sill lovedlovedloved it though. As I said before — can’t wait to get it on DVD. Hopefully sometime soon. Because I already want to watch it again. 🙂 And I just saw it last night. :p

hope.

“My other major problem was when Edward was sucking Bella’s blood. It was creepy. I get that they had to show how hard it was for him to stop but seriously, that was not the way.”

THANK YOU!

I WHOLE-HEARTEDLY AGREE!

That is the one part that will be stuck in my mind forever… I literally could not watch that part… and if it were just that scene that I saw and not the rest of the movie, I would have thought that this was just another demonic vampire movie, even though it’s not.

Ugh.

Believe this or not, I actually went and saw this movie 22 times in theatres. It’s by far my FAVORITE movie ever! ( AS YOU CAN TELL!) My room is literally, like walking into a Twilight! I have posters and the books and the cardboard cut out of Edward and the bedspread with all the books and bookmarks and the tee shirts and jewelry. You can imagine I was at Hot Topic the night/morning they released it on dvd. I am the biggest fan of the books and have been since they came out in 2005 and I had to do a book project and got to do it on that book. I am a fan of the movie as well, but I think we can all agree, the movie has NOTHING on the book!

Leave a Reply

Categories

